Texas Drivers Handbook Study and Review Questions for Class C Operators

Created by CyanAnn 

Upgrade to
remove ads

Texas Department of Public Safety Revised October 2008

What is the minimum age at which you can get a Class C driver license without either driver education or being a hardship case? (Chpt. 1)

18 years of age

How much is the maximum fine for a first conviction of driving without a license? (Chpt. 1)

up to $200 fine

What type of restrictions may be placed on your license? (Chpt. 1)

A With corrective lenses
B LOFS age 21 or over
C Daytime only
D Not to exceed 45 MPH
E No expressway driving
I M/C not to exceed 250 cc
J Licensed M/C Operator age 21 or over in sight
K Moped
L Vehicle w/o air brakes - applies to vehicles requiring CDL
M CDL Intrastate Commerce only
P Stated on license
Q LOFS 21 or over vehicle above Class B
R LOFS 21 or over vehicle above Class C
S Outside mirror or hearing aid
T Automatic transmission
U Applicable prosthetic devices
V Applicable vehicle devices
W Power steering

In what direction should you turn your wheels when parking uphill without a curb? (Chpt. 7)

to the right

What action should you take if you fail to receive the renewal notice card reminding you that your driver license is about to expire? (Chpt. 1)

" it is still up to you to renew your license."

On a one-way street, what color is the broken lane marker? (Chpt. 5)

White

Describe the "Yield" sign. (Chpt. 5)

A red and white equilateral triangle. This sign tells you that the road you are on joins with another road ahead. You should slow down or stop if necessary so that you can yield the right-of-way to vehicles on the other road.

What does a "Narrow Bridge" sign look like, and how should the driver react when he sees one? (Chpt. 5)

It is a yellow diamond and shows that the bridge ahead is not as wide as the road. Slow down and use caution.

What is the shape of a "Keep Right" sign, and how should the driver react when he sees one? (Chpt. 5)

A yellow diamond that has two arrows;,one arrow pointing down and the other pointing up. Driver should drive in the right-hand lane and expect oncoming traffic in the left-hand lane.

Which sign tells you to slow down because you are approaching a double curve? (Chpt. 5)

A yellow diamond. The road curves one way (right) and then the other way (left). Slow down, keep right, and do not pass.

What does a "Do Not Pass" sign mean? (Chpt. 5)

Do not pass other vechicles.

Which sign tells you to keep in the right-hand lane when driving slow? (Chpt. 5)

White vertical rectangle with black writing. "Slower Traffic Keep Right" is written on sign.

What does "Yield Right-of-Way" mean? (Chpt. 4, 5)

To allow another vehicle or roadway user to proceed first, when they have the privilege of having immediate use of a part of a roadway.

Describe the equipment required on passenger cars by state law. (Chpt. 2)

1. BRAKES
Foot Brake—must stop car within a distance of 25 feet at a speed of 20 miles per hour.
Parking Brake—should be adequate to stop and hold car.
2. LIGHTS
Two Headlights—one on each side on the front—a beam indicator showing when the high headlight beam is on.
Tail Lights—all vehicles shall be equipped with two tail lights, except that models manufactured prior to model year 1960 shall be required to have only one tail light.
Brake Lights—all vehicles shall be equipped with two brake lights (stop lights) except that models manufactured prior to model year 1960 shall be required to have only one brake light (stop light).
Turn Signals—every motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer, and pole-trailer shall be equipped with electric turn signals (motorcycles and certain trailers
excepted), except that passenger cars and trucks less than 80 inches in width and manufactured prior to model year 1960 need not be equipped with electrical turn signals.
License Plate Light—a white light lighting the rear license plate when the headlights (or auxiliary lamps) are lighted.
Reflectors—two red reflectors, one on each side of car. (May be in combination with tail lights)—placed at a height of 15 to 60 inches and visible up to 600 feet. Reflectors must be visible up to 350 feet on vehicles manufactured prior to the year model 1960.
Parking Lights—white or amber on the front, red to the rear (may be in
combination with other lights).
3. HORN—must be heard for a distance of 200 feet.
4. MUFFLER—a muffler and exhaust system—all 1968 or later models must be equipped with an exhaust emission system to help reduce air pollution.
5. SAFETY GLASS—all new cars must be equipped with safety glass. All replacements of glass for any car must be with safety glass.
6. LICENSE PLATES—must have one valid plate at the front and one at the rear of passenger and commercial vehicles except dealer plates and those
commercial vehicles that are only issued one license plate.
7. WINDSHIELD WIPER—for safety in bad weather.
8. REARVIEW MIRROR—shall be so located as to be able to reflect a view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet to the rear of the vehicle.
9. SLOW-MOVING VEHICLE EMBLEM—farm tractors and machinery, road construction machinery, animal-drawn vehicles and certain other motor vehicles
designed to travel at 25 miles per hour or less must display the slow moving vehicle emblem.
10. FRONT SEAT BELTS—are required equipment if seat belt anchorages were part of the original equipment of the automobile.
11. TIRES—all vehicles are required to be equipped with tires that are in proper and safe condition with a minimum tread depth of 2/32nds of an inch.
12. FUEL CAP—the fuel cap on gasoline-powered vehicles from 2 to 24 years old will be checked to determine if the fuel cap is missing or defective. (EXCEPTIONS: antique vehicles, circus vehicles, slow moving vehicles,

What is the purpose of an exhaust emission system? (Chpt. 2)

To reduce air pollution.

Describe the types of equipment which Texas state law specifically forbids on passenger cars driven within the state. (Chpt. 2)

1. A red light showing from the front—except on an emergency vehicle.
2. A bell, siren, or exhaust whistle—except on an emergency vehicle.
3. A muffler cutout.
4. Anything that extends more than three inches beyond the left side or six inches beyond the right side of the body, running board, or fenders of your car.
5. Flashing red lights on the front—except on emergency vehicles, school buses, and church buses

How should you react when a traffic officer tells you to do something which is ordinarily considered to be against the law? (Chpt. 5)

You must obey the traffic officer at all times.

Once the brakes have been applied, about how many feet does a car which was going 70 mph travel before it comes to a stop? (Chpt. 8)

It takes 387 feet for the car to stop. (and this is with good brakes and tires on dry, level pavement)

When is it necessary to stop before proceeding when you overtake a school bus loading or unloading children? (Chpt. 4)

You should never overtake a school bus, especially when it is loading or unloading children. You should stop until the bus either resumes its drive or the driver tells you to pass.

About how many feet will the average driver going 50 mph travel from the moment he sees danger until he hits the brakes? (Chpt. 8)

110 feet (It takes the average person 1-1/2 seconds to think, react and apply the brakes. At 50 mph, a car travels 110 feet before driver thinks to apply the brakes, and 119 feet traveled while skidding to a stop. That is a total of 229 feet to come to a complete stop.)

Within how many feet of a crosswalk may you park, when parking near a corner? (Chpt. 7)

No less than 20 feet

What is the state speed limit for automobiles in urban districts? (Chpt. 8)

30 mph

Does a posted speed limit of 55 mph mean that you may drive 55 mph on that highway under all conditions? (Chpt. 8)

No. Speed must be adjusted to conditions in order to avoid accidents.

You should never drive on the left half of the roadway when you are within how many feet from an intersection, bridge, or railroad crossing? (Chpt. 6)

100 ft (five car lengths)

What should you do if you discover you are in the wrong lane to make a turn as you enter an intersection? (Chpt. 6)

If you can't get into the proper lane at least within one-half block before you turn, then don't turn and continue straight.

When two cars meet at the intersection of a two-lane road with a four-lane road, which one must yield the right-of-way? (Chpt. 4)

Vehicles traveling on a divided street or roadway, OR Vehicles traveling on a roadway with three or more lanes.

If you are driving and hear a siren coming, what should you do? (Chpt. 4)

Yield the right-of-way by moving to the right edge of the roadway and stopping.

What is the first thing that should be done when a car starts to skid? (Chpt. 9)

DONʼT JAM ON THE BRAKES. Take your foot off the gas pedal (accelerator).
TURN YOUR STEERING WHEEL IN THE DIRECTION OF THE SKID. As you recover control, gently straighten the wheels.

At what time of the day should your headlights be turned on? (Chpt. 9)

You must use your headlights beginning one-half hour after sunset and ending one-half hour before sunrise, or any other time when persons or vehicles cannot be seen clearly for at least 1,000 feet.

Under what conditions may your driver's license be suspended? (Chpt. 1)

DWI by use of alcohol or drugs, drug offense, intoxication manslaughter, intoxication assault, failure to stop and render aid, causing the death or serious injury of anyone while operating a motor vehicle, any offense punishable as a felony under the motor vehicle laws of Texas, overtaking and passing a school bus, boating while intoxicated, evading arrest, driving while license invalid, alterd/unlawful use of driver license, etc.

What is carbon monoxide, and how may it be harmful to drivers? (Chpt. 14)

Cars produce carbon monoxide which is deadly gas which can lead to carbon monoxide poisoning. Make sure that you are getting plenty of fresh air.

Describe what you should do if you have a blowout while driving. (Chpt. 9)

- DO NOT SLAM THE BRAKES
-Take your foot off the gas and gently apply the brakes.
-Steer straight ahead to a stop
-Move the car off the pavement, turn on emergency warning lights, and tie a white cloth where visible or raise your hood.

What should you do when driving down a steep grade in a car with standard transmission? (Chpt. 9)

Use a low gear to slow your vehicle down.

What should you do if you damage an unattended vehicle? (Chpt. 11)

Stop, locate owner/operator, and give name and address. Or, leave a written notice.

When are accident reports required? (Chpt. 11)

When a Law Enforcement Officer hasn't investigated the crash

If you are required to show proof of financial responsibility for the future, how many years must such proof be kept up? (Chpt. 3)

Two years

What type of sign warns you to watch right and left for cross traffic? (Chpt. 5)

CROSSROAD AHEAD; slow down, look carefully in all directions

Describe the emblem which identifies vehicles which travel at speeds of 25 mph or less. (Chpt. 15)

A fluorescent orange triangle with retreflective borders.

In which gear should you drive when going down a steep hill? (Chpt. 9)

Use a low gear to help slow your vehicle down.

What qualifications must one have to teach a beginner to drive? (Chpt. 1)

Must be a licensed driver
who is at least 21 years of age and has had at least one year driving experience
who is occupying the seat beside the driver, is not intoxicated, asleep
or engaging in any activity that prevents them from observing and responding
to actions of the driver

If the person is under 18, when does his provisional license expire? (Chpt. 1)

All original licenses, other than an Instruction Permit, issued to persons
under 18 years of age will be marked "PROVISIONAL." The license will expire on the applicant's next birth date occurring after the date of issuance

When parked parallel, your curb side wheels must be no more than how many inches from the curb? (Chpt. 7)

within 18 inches

When following another car, what is a good rule to determine the distance at which you should follow behind? (Chpt. 9)

keep at least two seconds away

To what agency and within what time period must a change of address be reported for driver licensing purposes? (Chpt. 1)

New residents who are properly licensed have 30 days after entry into
the state to secure a Texas driver license from a DPS office. (pg 1-2)

What effects does the use of marijuana and amphetamine have on driving? (Chpt. 10)

marijuana impairs the sensory and perceptual skills, and also affects concentration and judgement
amphetamines make the driver less coordinated, more edgy, and have been known to cause lapses in concentration.

What is the penalty for being convicted of driving while intoxicated? (Chpt. 10)

mandatory suspension of license the first offense has a maximum fine of $2000, suspension of 90-365 days, and confinement of 72hrs to 180 days.

What does a green arrow showing with a red light mean? (Chpt. 5)

Proceed carefully in the direction of the arrow, yielding the right-of-way to other vehicles and pedestrians

How should you react to a flashing red light? (Chpt. 5)

Stop completely while entering the crosswalk/intersection, and then proceed carefully

Which sign tells you to watch out for a train? (Chpt. 5)

A railroad crossing sign; it's circular and yellow with a black X and two Rs. Railroads also have railroad cross bucks posted by the crossing, with a gate and flashing lights.

Describe the sign which warns you to slow down for a winding road. (Chpt. 5)

Yellow, diamond, and a squiggly line pointing ahead.

What sign indicates that the road that you are on merges with another? (Chpt. 5)

One lane merging onto the arrow that's pointing ahead.

What kind of sign warns you that the highest safe speed for the turn ahead is 35 mph? (Chpt. 5)

Advisory Speed Sign

Describe the sign that tells you to watch for cross traffic ahead. (Chpt. 5)

The sign is a yellow diamond with a black +.
The sign MAY also contain text such as Crossroad ahead.

What type of sign warns you that you should slow down for a sharp rise in the roadway? (Chpt. 5)

Describe the type of sign which would let you know that you were on a short state highway in a city or urban area. (Chpt. 5)

Loop ###, rectangle with black writing

What is the maximum number of inches that you may lawfully allow an object to extend beyond the left fender of your car? (Chpt. 2)

3 inches

Under what conditions must you always stop? (Chpt. 4, 5)

At stop signs, red lights, crosswalks, and for school buses and emergency vehicles

What should you do when coming onto a street from a private alley or driveway? (Chpt. 4)

You should stop prior to the sidewalk and yield the right-of-way to all approaching pedestrians

If a child runs into the road 45 to 50 feet ahead of your car, what is the highest speed from which you can stop with good brakes without hitting him? (Chpt. 8)

15 mph

How close to a fireplug may a vehicle lawfully park? (Chpt. 7)

No less then 15 feet

What does a posted speed limit of 55 mph mean? (Chpt. 5)

It means that the maximum speed is 55 mph on the roadway in ideal conditions

What is the maximum speed limit for passenger cars on Texas Highway numbered by this state or United States outside an urban district? (Chpt. 8)

Daytime - 70 mph Nighttime - 65 mph

Under what circumstances should you never attempt to pass a car ahead of you? (Chpt. 6)

When pavement markings prohibit driving on other lane -When within 100 ft of/or crossing an intersection or railroad crossing -On a hill, curve, or other place with limited vision -100 ft of a bridge, viaduct, or tunnel

Under what conditions are overtaking and passing to the right not permitted? (Chpt. 6)

If you need to drive off the paved portion of the highway

When a driver is waiting to make a left turn, what is the procedure he should take when the light turns green? (Chpt. 5, 6)

Get on the left lane, begin signaling and slowing down at least 100 ft from corner. Stay to the right of the interstate when on the centerline, and yield to approaching vehicles

What precautions should a driver take at uncontrolled intersections? (Chpt. 4)

Yield to any vehicle which has entered the intersection from the right or is approaching from the right. Make sure there are not any vehicles going left or right

What regulations should a bicycle rider observe? (Chpt. 13)

Same regulations as drivers, but ride as far right in the lane as possible

Under what conditions should headlights be used? (Chpt. 9)

When it's half an hour after sunset until half an hour before sunrise, and whenever you can't see clearly

You should dim your lights when you are within how many feet of an approaching car? (Chpt. 9)

500 ft.

What type of lighting should cars use when parked on the highway at night? (Chpt. 9)

Parking lights or lower beam headlights

Which lights should you use when you are driving in a fog? (Chpt. 9)

Lower (dim) headlights

When are you required to show proof of financial responsibility? (Chpt. 3)

Upon request, when you're involved in a crash

When needed, how may one show proof of financial responsibility? (Chpt. 3)

With a liability insurance policy, or a standard proof of liability insurance form given by the Texas Department of Insurance and issued by a liability insurer

What sign warns you that you must slow down? (Chpt. 5)

Many of the yellow diamond warning signs. Especially slow down on wet road

What circumstances may lead to possible loss of your license? (Chpt. 1)

Suspension/revocation action from another state, parental authorization withdrawn, voluntary surrender for medical/insurance purposes, and false statement on application

In addition to mufflers, what new equipment is required on all cars manufactured in 1968 and after? (Chpt. 2)

An exhaust emission system

Why are seat belts important? (Chpt. 14)

They keep you from getting thrown out of your car, hitting the dashboard too hard, and in control of your car

What is meant by "defensive driving?" (Chpt. 14)

Protecting yourself and others from dangerous and unexpected driving situations by using a space management system. Stay alert to everything happening around you, look for trouble spots developing around, have a plan of action if other driver does the wrong thing, and know the law requires drivers to protect each other from their own mistakes

What are the different classes of licenses and age requirements for each? (Chpt. 1)

Class A - 18 or 17 with approved driver education or approval of minor's hardship application
Class B - 18 or 17 with approved driver education or approval of minor's hardship
Class C - 18 or 16 with approved driver education or 15 with approval of minor's hardship
Class M - for motorcycles, 18 or 16 with approved driver education

When is a bicyclist not required to ride to the right of the roadway? (Chpt. 13)

Passing/overtaking, left turn at intersection, unsafe conditions in roadway, lane's width is inappropriate

When are bicyclists allowed to ride two abreast in a traffic lane? (Chpt. 13)

When lane is of substandard length

What are the three most common motorist caused car-bicycle crashes? (Chpt. 13)

1) Motorists turning left in front of oncoming bicycle traffic.
2) Motorists turning right across path of bicycle traffic.
3) Motorists pulling away from a stop sign or failing to yield to bicycle cross traffic

What are the penalties for minors (persons under the age of 21) convicted of Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol? (Chpt. 10)

-Fine up to $500, 20-40 hrs community service, license suspended for 120 days, and/or confinement of up to 180 days
-Fine up to $500, 40-60 hrs community service, and maybe AA course
-$500-$2000, 40-60 hrs community service, and/or confinement up to 180 days

What are the penalties for minors (persons under the age of 21) convicted of nondriving alcohol-related offenses? (Chpt. 10)

-60 days suspension
-120 days suspension
-180 days suspension. May be placed in jail until bond is made or appearance before a magistrate or juvenile court judge

Please allow access to your computer’s microphone to use Voice Recording.

Having trouble? Click here for help.

We can’t access your microphone!

Click the icon above to update your browser permissions above and try again

Example:

Reload the page to try again!

Reload

Press Cmd-0 to reset your zoom

Press Ctrl-0 to reset your zoom

It looks like your browser might be zoomed in or out. Your browser needs to be zoomed to a normal size to record audio.

Please upgrade Flash or install Chrome
to use Voice Recording.

For more help, see our troubleshooting page.

Your microphone is muted

For help fixing this issue, see this FAQ.

Star this term

You can study starred terms together

NEW! Voice Recording

Create Set