IAABO Test Questions

162 terms by mschryer 

Create a new folder

Advertisement Upgrade to remove ads

At 10:17 left in the pre-game warm-up period. the visiting team submits the names and numbers of all team members and designated their starting players. At the 10:00 minute mark when the Referee arrives to check the scorebook, the visiting team is not listed in the scorebook. The official charges the visiting team a technical foul. Is the official correct?

No. (10-1-1) A team shall not fail to supply the SCORER with the name and number of each team member who may participate and designate the five starting players at least 10 minutes before the scheduled starting time. DOES NOT have to be in the scorebook, just has to be in the possession of the SCORER.

A-7 misses the bus to the game and will arrive at the game late. The Referee has the official scorer erase the players name from the scorebook stating that only team members in uniform may be listed. Is the official correct?

No. (4-34-2)

A-3 is injured and not in uniform. A-3 joins fellow team members for the on-court pre-game warm-up routine. Since A-3 is a team member, the officials allow her to warm-up with the team. Are the Officials correct?

No. (4-34-4) A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform and is eligible to become a player.

As the Referee enters the center circle to administer the jump ball, it is proper procedure to verbally state to the players "Hold Your Spots" before administering the toss. Is this correct?

No. ( 6-2, Mechanics Manual 31) When the official is ready and until the ball is tossed, nonjumpers shall not: a. Move onto the center restraining circle, and b. Change position around the center restraining circle. Nonjumpers are allowed to move backwards.

On the jump ball to the start the game between A-1 and B-1, the Referee tosses the ball straight up to an acceptable height. Both A-1 and B-1 make an attempt to tap the ball, but miss badly. The ball on its downward flight hits A-1 on the shoulder and is recovered by A-3. The officials allow play to continue and the arrow is set toward Team B's basket.

Yes. (6-3-6) The tossed ball must be touched by one or both of the jumpers after it reaches its highest point. If the ball contacts the floor without being touched by at least one of the jumpers, the Referee shall toss it again.

A-1 is fouled in the act of shooting and has a small amount of blood on his/her jersey. The officials stop the game and allow a trainer to quickly rectify the situation. A-1 is allowed to continue. Are the officials correct?

No. (3-3-7) A player who is bleeding , has an open wound, ahs any amount of blood on his/her uniform, or has blood on his/her person, shall be directed to leave the game until the bleeding is stopped, the wound is covered, the uniform and/or body is appropriately cleaned, and/or the uniform is changed before returning to competition, unless a timeout is requested by, and granted to, his/her team and the situation can be corrected by the end of the time-out.

A-1, while dribbling in the backcourt throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A's frontcourt, B-2 deflects the ball back into the backcourt where A-1 catches the ball in the air. The official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

Yes. (9-9-1) A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went into the backcourt.

While A-1 is dribbling the ball from backcourt to frontcourt, he/she has forward foot and ball in the frontcourt while back foot remains in the backcourt. The official continues the ten second count. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-1) A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or player is touching the backcourt.

A-2 catches a throw-in pass while straddling the division line. A-2 lifts the foot form the backcourt and starts a dribble. The thrown ball hits the division line and returns and hits A-2's hand. The official rules this a legal play.

No. (9)

During a throw-in by A-1 near the division line, A-2 catches the ball with the left foot on the floor in the front court. A-2 then steps in the backcourt with the right foot. Official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

Yes. (9-9) Team control is established in A's frontcourt when A-2 catches the throw-in pass.

A-1 dives and recovers the ball on the playing court. Momentum causes A-1 to roll with the ball several feet. The official rules this a traveling violation. Is this correct?

No. (4-44)

A-1 jumps to shoot, seeing the shot will blocked he/she drops the ball to the floor to start a dribble. A-1 is the first to touch the ball upon returning to the court. The official rules this a traveling violation. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-44-3c) The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.

Team A entitled to a throw-in after a timeout is still huddling when the second horn sounds. The official places the ball on the court and starts the 5 second count. B-1 rushes over and picks up the ball and attempts to make a throw-in. The official rules this a delay of game technical foul. Is the official correct?

No. (4-47-1) Warning for delay for a throw-in plane violation. (9-2-10) The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary line plane until the ball is released on a throw-in pass.

A-1 seeing the ball is going out of bounds jumps and while airborne recovers the ball and throws it back onto the playing court. A-1 after being out of bounds returns to the court, recovers the ball and starts a dribble. The official should rule this a?

Double Dribble

A-1 receives a throw-in pass from A-2. A-1 fumbles the ball to the court. The official rules this a start of a dribble. Is the official correct?

No. (4-15, 4-21)

During an alternating possession throw-in, A-2's throw-in is intentionally kicked by B-1. The official awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still an alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?

No. (4-42-5) The AP throw-in was not legally touched. Kicking the ball is a violation and the ball becomes dead, ending the AP throw-in. This becomes a non-AP throw-in and A retains the arrow.

Team A is entitled to an AP throw-in in their backcourt. After A-1's throw-in pass is released it is caught by B-1 who has one foot in bounds and one foot out of bounds over the end line. Official awards the ball back to team A and has the arrow remain in team A's direction. Are the officials correct?

No. The AP throw-in was not legally touched. B-1 catches the ball out of bounds and the ball becomes dead, ending the AP throw-in. This becomes a non-AP throw-in and A retains the arrow.

A-1's successful try passes through the net. Prior to the ball being at the disposal of team B, A-2 pushes B-3 on the torso. The official rules B-3 must shoot the free throws.

No. A Technical Foul can be attempted by any player the coach selects.

A-1 catches a pass straddling the 3pt arc. A-1 lifts the foot that is inside the arc and pivots on the foot behind the arc and shoots a hook shot that enters the basket. The official rules this a 2pt goal. Is the official correct?

No. The player was completely behind the arc when the shot was attempted.

During a dead ball the Head Coach challenges the official on their last ruling. Which of the following would be the best statement to use when responding to the coach?

"Coach, if that is the way you saw it, then I missed it."

While A-1 is dribbling in the backcourt, B-1 bats the ball away from A-1. The official continues the 10 second count. Is the official correct?

Yes. (9-8) Team A is still in control.

Substitute A-6 is beckoned into the game to replace A-5. When A-6 legally enters the court, A-5 becomes bench personnel. Is this correct?

Yes. (4-34-3) A substitute becomes a player when he/she legally enters the court. A player becomes bench personnel after his/her substitute becomes a player or after notification of the coach following his/her disqualification.

During intermission, A-1 is charged with a technical foul for unsporting behavior. The official also charges an indirect technical foul to the head coach. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-34-2) During intermission, all team members are bench personnel for the purpose of penalizing unsporting behavior. (10-4 Penalty) The foul is charged to the offender (if not the Head Coach) and also charged indirectly to the Head Coach.

While A-1 is in control, A-2 commits a common foul. The official rules it a team control foul. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-19-7)

While A-1 is in the act of shooting and before releasing the ball, B-2 fouls A-2. A-1 continues the motion and scores. The official counts the goal and penalizes the foul. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-11-2) If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot and body movement in any activity while holding the ball.

Team A's Coach is charged with an unsporting technical foul. The official notifies the scorer that the foul counts toward reaching the bonus. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-8-2) Player-control, team-control and technical fouls are counted as team fouls to reach the bonus.

A-2 fouls B-2, while A-1 is dribbling. The official rules it a player control foul. Is the official correct?

No. This is a team control foul.

Prior to the start of the game, team B is charged with a technical foul. A-6 replaces a designated starter to attempt the free throws. The official allows A-6 to replace the designated starter. Is the official correct?

Yes. (8-3)

Team A is assessed a technical foul before the start of the game. Following team B's free throws, the official resumes play with a jump ball. Is the official correct?

No. (8-5-2)

B-1 commits his/her fifth foul and A-1 is awarded two free throws. Prior to B-1 being replaced, A-6 and A-7 report in to enter the game. The official denies A-6 and A-7 from entering the game. Is the official correct?

No. (3-3-1c Exception) When a player is required by rule to be replaced prior to administering the free throws, then all other substitutes who have legally reported may also enter the game.

A-1's throw-in is batted by B-1 back to A-1, who touches the ball while still out of bounds. The official rules A-1 caused the ball to be out of bounds and awards the ball to team B for the throw-in. Is the official correct?

Yes. (7-2-2) If the ball is out of bounds because of touching or being touched by a player who is on or outside the boundary line, such player causes it to go out.

Following the warning horn to resume play after a time-out, A-6 reports to the scorer to enter the game. The official beckons A-6 into the game. Is the official correct?

No. (3-1a) Between quarters, at halftime and during a time out, the substitute must report or be in position to report to the scorer, prior to the warning signal which is sounded 15 seconds before the end of the intermission or time out.

A-1 passes to A-2. While the ball is in flight, A-1 commits a common foul on B-1. The official rules it a team control foul. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-12-2b) A team is in control of the ball when a live ball is being passed among teammates.

A-1's throw-in is caught by A-2, who is airborne from the frontcourt. A-2 lands in the backcourt. The official rules it a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

No. (9-9-3) A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.

Team A has their school logo at the apex of the neckline in the corresponding area on the back of the jersey. The official rules the jerseys are illegal. Is the official correct?

No. (3-4-2d)

During a jump ball to start the game, A-1 taps the ball which is simultaneously deflected out of bounds by A-2 and B-2. The official has the original jumpers re-jump to resume play. Is the official correct?

No. (6-3-8) The jump ball ends when the touched ball contacts one of the eight nonjumpers, an official, the floor, a basket or backboard. (7-3-2) If the AP procedure has not been established, play shall be resumed by a jump ball between the two players involved in the center restraining circle.

While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 fouls B-2. The try is successful. Team B is not in the bonus. The official rules team B will have the privilege of moving along the end line. Is the official correct?

Yes. (7-5-7b) A team retains the privilege if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul (before the throw-in ends and before the bonus is in effect) and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line.

As the ball is being bounced by the official to free thrower A-1 and before A-1 catches it. B-1 requests a time-out. The official grants the request. Is the official correct?

Yes. (5-8-3b) The ball is dead before it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

A-1 has the ball out of bounds for an alternating possession throw-in when B-2 fouls A-2. Team A is not in the bonus. The official awards the ball back to team A then instructs the scorer to turn the arrow when the ball is touched inbounds. Is the official correct?

No. (4-42-5) The throw-in does not end before the foul is committed. Now the foul is penalized so, A retains the arrow.

Defensive player B-1 intentionally extends his/her leg and deflects A-1's pass. The ball hits B-1 in the thigh. The official rules it a violation. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-29, 9-4)

While A-1 is in the act of shooting and prior to releasing the ball, A-2 fouls B-2. A-1 continues the motion and scores. The official counts the goal. Is the official correct?

No. (4-11-3) Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is in flight. The ball becomes dead immediately.

Prior to airborne shooter A-1 returning to the floor, A-1 is fouled. The official rules A-1 was fouled in the act of shooting. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-1)

After A-1 ends his/her dribble, A-1 fumbles the ball. A-1 catches the ball with both hands and dribbles again. The official rules it an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

Yes. (9-5)

B-1 is charged with an intentional personal foul against A-1. The official awards A-1 two free throws and Team A the ball nearest the spot of the foul. Is the official correct?

Yes. (10 Penalties-4, 8-5-3)

Player A-1 is fouled and injured. A-6 replaces A-1 to attempt the free throws. After the successful free throws, A-7 reports to replace A-6. The official allows the substitution. Is the official correct?

Yes. (3-3-4, 8-2)

Thrower-in A-1 is the first to touch the ball near the division line. Official rules this a throw-in violation and awards team B the ball nearest the spot of the touching. Is the official correct?

No. (9-2-6, 9-2 Penalty) The thrown ball shall not touch the thrower in the court before it touches or is touched by another player. The ball becomes dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

A-1 enters the game with an illegal undershirt. Official informs the coach that players wearing illegal apparel will not be allowed to participate. Is the official correct?

Yes. (3-5, 10-5-4)

Team A has their school logo on their game pants. Official rules this is allowable. Is the official correct?

Yes. (3-4-5) Only one visible manufacturer's logo/trademark/reference is permitted.

A-1, in an attempt to maneuver around a double screen, intentionally goes out of bounds. Official calls a violation on A-1 as soon as he/she steps out of bounds. Is the official correct?

Yes. (9-3-3) A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason. Throw-in form spot nearest the violation.

Fifteen seconds prior to the expiration of a time-out, the timer sounds a warning horn. Following the warning horn, A-6 reports to the scorer to enter the game. Official denies A-6's entry. Is the official correct?

Yes (3-3-1a) Between quarters, at halftime and during a time-out, the substitute must report or be in position to report to the scorer, prior to the warning signal which is sounded 15 seconds before the end of the intermission or the time-out.

Thrower-in A-1 reaches through the plane of the boundary line and shoves defender B-1 prior to releasing the ball. Official rules this a player control foul. Is the official correct?

No. (4-12-1, 4-12-6, 4-19-6) A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

B-1 fouls A-1. It is the 7th foul of the half. As the official is ready to administer the free throw, A-1 is huddling with his/her coach and does not enter the semi-circle. The official uses the resumption of play procedure to resume play. Is the official correct?

No. (4-38, 10-3-5c) Player Technical Foul.

Number 15 of team A reports to the scorer and is beckoned into the game. After No. 15 is beckoned into the game, the scorer discovers there is no No.15 in the scorebook. The scorer adds the name and number, but fails to notify the official of the addition. At the first dead ball, the scorer informs the official he/she added the name and number to the scorebook. Official assesses a technical foul to team A. Is the official correct?

No. (10-1-2b,10-1-2 Penalty) Penalized when it occurs.

A-1, during an alternating possession throw-in, places the ball through the boundary line. B-1 causes a held ball. Official rules the alternating possession throw-in ended, has the scorer turn the arrow in favor of team B, and awards the ball to team B. Is the official correct?

No. (4-42-5, 6-4-4) The bill must be passed in order for a touch to be considered a legal touch. In this situation the ball was not passed when it was touched in bounds and therefore, the throw-n never ended.

Substitute B-6 enters the court while the ball is in control of Team A and while the ball is live and the clock is running. The officials are unaware that Team B has 6 players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which Team A commits a violation. The scorer now informs the officials that Team B had 6 players on the court. The referee rules no technical foul can be charged. Is the referee correct?

No. (2-11-3, 10-2-2) Penalized if discovered before the next live ball.

A-1 passes the ball to A-2. The pass is off to the side and A-2, attempting to reach the ball, bats it to the floor. A-2 recovers the ball and starts a dribble. Official rules this a double dribble. Is the official correct?

No. (4-15-1) A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control...

A-1, while dribbling in the frontcourt, has the ball deflected into the backcourt by B-1. When A-1 regains control in the backcourt, the official begins the 10 second count. Is the official correct?

No. (4-12-3, 4-35-1b, 4-4-2, 4-4-3, 9-8) Team still has control and the official should begin the count as soon as the ball is in the backcourt.

B-1 commits his/her fifth foul. B-6 replaces B-1. Following the warning horn, A-6 reports to enter the game. Official denies A-6 from entering the game. Is the official correct?

No. (3-3-1d) On a disqualification, other substitutes may enter at any time when beckoned before the ball is live.

During an interrupted dribble by A-1, A-1, while chasing the ball inadvertently steps on the boundary line. When A-1 catches up with the ball and touches it, official sounds the whistle and rules this a violation. Is the official correct?

No. (4-15-5) No player control during an interrupted dribble and A-1 did not intentionally step out of bounds.

A-1 intercepts a pass with one foot on the floor. A-1 then throws the ball into the air, takes two full steps and bats the ball to a teammate. Official allows play to continue. Is the official correct?

No. (4-44) This is a travel. Since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent tap is illegal.

Following a field goal, B-1's throw-in is deflected out of bounds by A-2 over the end line. Official awards the ball back to team B and rules team B still has the privilege of moving along the end line. Is the official correct?

No. (4-42-1, 7-5-7) A team retains the privilege of moving along the end line only if the scoring team commits a violation or common foul before the throw-in ends, before the bonus is in effect and the ensuing throw-in spot would have been on the end line. The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.

A-1 jumps from behind the 3 point line, but does not release the ball until he/she has broken the plane of the line. Official signals this a 3 point try. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-35-3, 5-2-1) Player location - the location of an airborne player is the same as the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.

While the game is in progress, fans who were given artificial noisemakers begin using them. Official assesses the home team with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

No. (1-18)

During an alternating possession throw-in by Team A, B-1 breaks the plane of the boundary line. The official stops play, issues a warning to Team B, awards the ball back to Team A and rules this is still an alternating possession throw-in. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-47-1, 9-2-10 P1)

While the ball is at the disposal of free thrower A-1, the official notices that A-2, in a marked lane space does not have one foot near the outer edge of the free throw lane line. The official rules this a violation. Is the official correct?

Yes. (9-1-3g) If the first or only violation is by the free thrower or a teammate, the ball becomes dead when the violation occurs and no point can be scored by that throw.

Team A substitutes three players. Captain of team B requests a center line-up for defensive match-ups. Official grants the request. Is the official correct?

Yes. (3-3-1e) A captain may request a defensive match-up if 3 or more substitutes form the same team enter during an opportunity to substitute.

While the ball is in flight on a field goal try, time expires in the third quarter. Before the try ends, A-2 is assessed a technical foul. Official starts the fourth quarter with team B shooting the technical foul. Is the official correct?

No. (5-6-2-E3) Each quarter or extra period ends when the signal illuminates or sounds indicating time has expired EXCEPT if the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or extra period ends when the try or tap ends AND if a foul occurs so near the expiration of time but while the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or extra period ends when the free throws and all related activity have been completed.

Thrower-in A-1 purposely delays his/her return to the playing court. Official charges A-1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

Yes. (10-3-2)

Following A-1's throw-in, A-1 purposely delays his/her return to the playing court. Official charges A-1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

Yes. (10-3-2)

A-1 is bleeding and the official stops the game and directs A-1 to the bench. Coach of team A requests and is granted a time-out. Following the time-out, A-1 comes back onto the court ready to play. Official allows A-1 to re-enter. Is the official correct?

Yes. (3-3-7)

While the ball is at the disposal of A-1 for a free throw, there is both player control and team control. Is this correct?

Yes. (4-12-1, 4-12-2, 4-12-6) A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control.

B-1 reports to the scorer for entry and the scorer notices that B-1 is wearing a different number than listed in the scorer's book. While B-1 is waiting to enter the scorer notifies both the coach and official. Prior to B-1 becoming a player, the coach has B-1 return to the bench. Official instructs the scorer to change the number in the book and charges team B with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

No. (3-3-3, 10-1-2c P) The penalty is only assessed if the Coach instructs the scorer to change the number in the book or the substitute became a player and the difference was recognized.

A-1 is disqualified for committing his/her fifth foul. Fifteen seconds before the expiration of the 20 seconds to replace A-1, the timer sounds a warning horn. Is the timer correct?

Yes. (2-12-5)

A-1 receives the ball while one knee is touching the floor. A-1 stands up. Official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct?

No. (4-44-5a, 4-44-5b)

While A-1's pass is in the air to A-2, B-1 deflects the pass. Official inadvertently sounds the whistle and grants a time-out requested by team A's coach. Official rules the time-out cannot be denied or revoked and after the time-out has expired, uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play. Is the official correct?

No. (4-12-2, 5-8-3, 6-7-5) Team control exists during a pass between teammates and during the deflected pass. Ball should be given back to Team A.

A-10 enters the game in the first quarter and plays several minutes and then is replaced. A-10 does not score or commit any fouls. Prior to starting the second quarter, the scorer informs the referee that A-10's name and number are not listed in the official scorebook. Referee instructs the scorer to add A-10's name and number to the squad list and assesses team A with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

No. (10-1-2 P) The penalty is only assessed if the Coach instructs the scorer to add the player's name and number to the scorebook.

A-1 is erroneously awarded the ball out of bounds instead of the one and one. A-1's inbound pass goes to A-2, who is tied up by B-2 and a held ball is ruled. The possession arrow favors team A. The error is now recognized. Official awards A- 1 the one and one with no players occupying the marked lane spaces and uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play. Is the official correct?

No. (2-10-6) If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, UNLESS it involves awarding a merited free throw and there has been NO CHANGE of team possession since the error was made, in which case, play shall resume as after any free throe attempt.

A-1 is fouled by B-1. It is Team B's 7th team foul of the half. The official erroneously awards the player two free throws instead of the one and one. A-1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed free throw is rebounded by A-2, who scores while all the other players were inactive. The mistake is recognized. The official cancels the score and resumes play using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-20-3, 5-1-1, 6-4-3e)

A-1 passes the ball to A-2 in the low post. The pass is off the side of A-2. A-2 reaches out and bats the ball to the floor. A-2 then catches it and starts a dribble. The official rules it an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

No. (4-15-1, 4-15-3) A dribble is ball movement caused by a PLAYER IN CONTROL...

A-1 is injured and the coach is beckoned onto the floor. After a few seconds it is apparent that A-1 is OK. Team A has no available substitutes. Official notifies the coach that A-1 must leave the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock starts. Is the official correct?

No. (3-3-6) Team A can use time-out to keep A-1 in the game.

A-1 and A-2 are in A's backcourt. A-1 rolls the ball toward A-2. Seeing that the ball will be intercepted, A-1 requests a timeout. Official grants the timeout. Is the official correct?

No. (4-12-1, 5-8-3a) Must have player control/disposal or be a dead ball to request a time-out.

Following a time-out, the official mistakenly awards the throw-in to team B. After the throw-in is completed the official recognizes the mistake. Official stops play, awards the ball to team A and puts the consumed time back on the game clock. Is the official correct?

No. (7-6-6) When the ball is awarded to the wrong team, the mistake must be rectified before the throw-in ends.

A-1's throw-in is caught by A-2, who takes several dribbles and tries for goal. The timer fails to start the game clock until the ball is in flight. The try is successful. B-1's throw-in is caught by B-2 before the mistake is recognized. The official rules the time frame to correct the timing error has expired. Is the official correct?

No. (5-10-1) The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start/stop the clock properly only when he/she has definitive knowledge relative to the time involved.

With 3/10's of a second on the game clock and team B leading by 2 points, team A has the ball for a throw-in. A-1 passes the ball to A-2, who is fouled while attempting to tap the ball toward his/her basket. Ball is in flight when time expires. Official counts the basket and awards A-2 one free throw. Is the official correct?

Yes. (5-1, 5-2-5, 6-7-5, 6-7-6)

The home team gives the referee the game ball which has 10 panels. Referee rules that for a ball to be legal it may not have more than 8 panels. Is the official correct?

No. (1-12-1c) No specific number of panels needed, just need to be horizontally shaped.

A-1's throw-in is tapped into the backcourt by A-2, who is in the frontcourt. A-1 is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt. Official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?

No. (4-12-1, 4-12-6, 9-9-1) No team control in the frontcourt existed prior to being tapped into the backcourt.

Following a score by team A and prior to the ball being at the disposal of team B, a double technical foul is committed. Possession arrow favors team A. The official awards the ball to team B for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-36-2b, 10P-1c)

B-1 has one foot touching the boundary line. B-1 lifts the foot off the boundary line and places it back on the playing court prior to A-1 contacting B-1. Official charges A-1 with a player control foul. Is the official correct?

Yes. (4-23-2a) B-1 had both feet touching the playing court thus establishing a legal guarding position.

B-1 is directed to the bench because of blood on his/her uniform. The official directs the timer to start the 20-second clock to replace B-1. Is the official correct?

No. (2-12-5) The official shall signal the timer to begin the 20-second interval for replacing an injured player after the injured player has been removed from the court and the coach has been notified that a replacement is required.

During the jump ball to start the game and prior to either team establishing control, B-2 intentionally fouls A-2. When the official places the ball at the disposal of A-1 for the first free throw, the official has the scorer set the possession arrow. Is the official correct?

No. (4-3-3b) For a non-common foul, set the arrow after the ball is at the disposal of the thrower for the throw-in after the free throws have been attempted.

During a 30-second timeout the coach wants to know if players may sit on the bench. Official notifies the coach that players must remain standing inside the boundary line. Is the official correct?

Yes. (5-12-5, 1-13-3)

A-1 is confused and attempts to score at the wrong basket. Prior to releasing the ball, A-1 is fouled by B-1. The ball enters the basket. The official counts the goal and awards A-1 a free throw for being fouled in the act of shooting. Is the official correct?

No. (CB 4-41-2) No Goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player throws at the opponent's basket, it is not a try. If the team is in the bonus when B-1 fouled A-1. A-1 is given a one-and-one attempt or two free throws at Team A's basket. If Team A is not in the bonus, then the ball is awarded to Team A for a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul.

After the signal sounds terminating play in the fourth quarter, the referee, who is near the doors to exit the gym, leaves the visual confines of the playing area. The umpire as he/she is leaving is notified of a mistake. The umpire informs the scorer that the mistake cannot be corrected because the final score was considered approved when the referee left the visual confines of the playing area. Is the official correct?

No. (2-2-4) The jurisdiction of the officials ' is terminated and the final score has been approved when ALL officials leave the visual confines of the playing area.

A-1 is erroneously awarded a one-and-one. A-1 makes the first free throw. A-1's second free throw hits the rim and as B-1 is grabbing the rebound, B-1 is fouled by A-2. The error is now recognized. Official cancels the free throw and cancels the common foul. Is the official correct?

No. (2-10-5, 4-20-3) Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified.

A-2 commits his/her fifth foul and is directed to the bench. After notifying the coach, the official instructs the timer to start the 20 second clock and sound a warning horn five seconds before time expires to replace A-1. Is the official correct?

No. (2-12-5) 15 seconds before expiration....

The scorer fails to award a three point goal even though all required signals had been given by the officials. Following the second live ball after the error the officials are informed of the mistake. Officials rule the mistake cannot be corrected because the time frame had expired. Are the officials correct?

No. (2-11-11) A bookkeeping mistake may be corrected at any time until the referee approves the final score.

A-1 is fouled in the act of shooting a 3-point try. The try is unsuccessful. Erroneously the official states 2 instead of 3 free throws. A-1 makes the first and misses the second. B-2 rebounds and is fouled by A-5. Team B is in the bonus. Following the second free throw which is successful, the official recognizes the error. Official informs the coach that the error cannot be corrected because the statute of limitations has expired. Is the official correct?

Yes. (2-10-1, 2-10-2) Error must be recognized no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. Clock started on B-2 rebound. First dead ball. B-2 1st Free Throw attempt, Second dead ball, B-2 2nd free throw attempt.

A-1 is directed to leave the game because of wearing illegal apparel. Official notifies the coach and instructs the timer to start the 20 second clock. After the warning horn sounds and before A-5's substitute reports, B-6 and B-7 report to enter the game. Official rules B-6 and B-7 may not enter because they reported after the warning horn. Is the official correct?

No. (2-12-5)

A-1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that it is the 10th foul on team B. The first free throw is unsuccessful. The second free throw is successful. When B-1 has the ball for the throw-in, the scorer informs the official that team B has only committed nine team fouls. Official cancels the last free throw and resumes play with the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?

No. (2-10-1b, 2-10-6) Point of interruption unless awarding a merited free throw.

The official erroneously states one and one instead of two shots. A-1 misses the first free throw, which is rebounded by B-1. As B-1 is dribbling up court, B-3 is charged with a common foul against A-3. Team A is in the bonus. The error is now recognized. The official awards A-1 his/her second free throw with the lane cleared, then awards A-3 a one and one and plays off the make or miss. Is the official correct?

No. (2-10-6, 4-19-7, 10-6-1b) Merited free throw; Possession changed; Team Control Foul no shots; Error recognized before second live ball.

B-1 fouls A-1. Team A is in the bonus but the official erroneously awards team A the ball out of bounds. Following the foul, A-6 replaces A-1. A-2's throw-in is intercepted by B-2 who scores. Before the ball becomes alive, the official is advised of the error. Official instructs A-1 to enter the game and attempt the one-and-one and informs the coach that A-1 may stay in the game or return to the bench. Is the official correct?

Yes. (2-10-1q, 2-10-2, 3-3-2, 8-2) Merited free throw; Error recognized before second live ball; Free throw must be attempted by offended player.

B-1 is directed to the bench because of blood on his/her uniform. The official directs the timer to start the 20-second clock to replace B-1. Is the official correct?

No. (2-12-5, 10-5-3) The official must notify the coach a replacement is required prior to directing the timer to start the clock.

A-1 is fouled and awarded a one and one. A-1 misses the first attempt. B-1 gets the rebound and is then fouled by A-2. The scorer now notifies the official that team A was not in the bonus. The official rules the correct procedure is to cancel the foul on A-2 and play from the point of interruption. Is the official correct?

No. (2-10-5) Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of the error, shall NOT be nullified.

The warning horn for the interval of time allowed to replace a disqualified player or an injured player, or a player directed to leave the game, and for sixty second and thirty second time-outs, shall be sounded with 15 seconds remaining in all cases. Is this correct?

Yes. (2-12-4, 2-12-5, 5-11-1, 5-11-2, 10-5-2)

A-1 is fouled but the official errs and allows A-2 to attempt the free throws. A-2's first try is successful. As the official bounces the ball to A-2, B-1 steps into the lane and bats the ball away. Official assesses B-1 with a technical foul. B-1 now informs the official that A-2 was not the player who was fouled. Official now recognizes the error, cancels the free throw, and rules the technical foul will stand. Official has A-1 attempt his/her free throws, then administer the free throws for the technical foul and awards team A the ball out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. Is the official correct?

Yes. (2-10-4, 4-19-9, 10-3-6, 10-3P, 10-P7) Free throw by wrong player; cancel free throw and activity except technicals; False double foul each foul carries its' own penalty.

As the official places the ball at the disposal of A-1 for a throw-in, the timer erroneously starts the clock. Official notices the mistake and sounds the whistle to stop the clock. As the official is having the correct time put back on the clock, B- 6 reports to the table to replace B-1. Official denies B-6 from entering the game. Is the official correct?

No. (2-5-5, 3-3-1, 6-7-5)

A-1 is fouled prior to the bonus but is erroneously awarded a one and one. The error is recognized after the successful second free throw. Official cancels the free throws and awards the ball to team A for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

Yes. (2-10-1b, 2-10-2)

A-1 is attempting a throw-in. Before the throw-in ends, B-2 fouls A-2. Team A is awarded the ball for a throw in. Thrower-in A-1 commits a throw-in violation. The official is now notified that the foul by B-2 was the 7th team foul. The official awards A-2 the one and one with players occupying the marked lane spaces and plays off the make or miss. Is the official correct?

No. (2-10-6) A-1's throw-in violation changed possession to Team B.

Substitute B-6 enters the court while the ball is in control of Team A and while the ball is live and the clock is running. The officials are unaware that Team B has 6 players in the game. B-6 returns to the bench after which Team A commits a violation. The scorer now informs the officials that Team B had 6 players on the court. The referee rules no technical foul can be charged. Is the referee correct?

No. (2-11-3, 10-2-2) Penalized if discovered before the next live ball.

A-1 is fouled prior to the bonus but is erroneously awarded a one and one. The error is recognized after the successful second free throw. Official cancels the free throws and awards the ball to team A for a throw-in. Is the official correct?

Yes. (2-10-1b, 2-10-2) Error must be recognized no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has been properly started.

A-1 is disqualified. An official notifies the coach, signals the timer to start the 20 second clock, then informs A-1. The timer sounds a warning horn with 15 seconds remaining in the interval of time. Is this official correct?

Yes. (2-12-5)

B-1 fouls A-1. Team A is in the bonus. Official erroneously awards the ball out of bounds to team A. Thrower-in A-1 commits a throw-in violation. After the ball is awarded out of bounds, the official is informed that team A is in the bonus. Official awards A-1 the one and one with no players occupying the marked lane spaces, and after the free throws awards team B the ball out of bounds. Is the official correct?

Yes. (2-10-6) The clock never started.....

During an interrupted dribble by A-1, A-1 commits a common foul on B-1. The official rules it a player control foul. Is the official correct?

No (4-15-5,6; 4-12-2c)

Player A-1 commits his/her fifth foul. When the official notifies the coach, A-1 is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel. Is this correct?

Yes (3-3-3)

While A-1 is dribbling, the ball is batted away from him/her. While the ball is loose, team control remains with team A. Is this correct?

Yes (4-12-4)

A-1 is driving toward the basket for a layup, B-1, while attempting to play the ball, causes excessive contact. The official rules it an intentional personal foul. Is the official correct?

Yes (4-19-3d)

A-1, the thrower in, breaks the plane of the boundary line with the ball. B-1 slaps the ball out of A-1's hands. The official charges B-1 with a technical foul. Is the official correct?

No (9-2-10note)

While team A is in control, the official charges A-2 and B-2 with a double personal foul. The official awards the ball back to team A nearest where the ball was located. Is the official correct?

Yes (POI)(10-Penalties-1c)

During an alternating possession throw-in by team A, B-2 commits a common foul on A-2. The official awards the ball back to team A and then rules team A retains the arrow. Is the official correct?

Yes (6-4-4.5)

A-1, while dribbling, brushes against B-1, who is touching the boundary line. The official rules A-1 out of bounds. Is the official correct?

No (7-1-1)

While A-1's try is in flight, A-2 fouls B-2. The try is successful. Team B is not in the bonus. The official rules team B's throw-in is a designated spot throw-in. Is the official correct?

No (6-7-7-Exceptiona; 7-5-7)

A-1, while airborne, passes to A-2 then fouls B-2 prior to returning to the floor. The official rules this team control. Is the official correct?

Yes (4-12-2b)

A-2, while airborne, catches A-1's throw-in while in the air. A-2 lands simultaneously on both feet in the frontcourt. A-2 then steps into the backcourt. The official rules it a legal play. Is the official correct?

No (9-9-1)

A-1 taps a rebound toward his/her basket. While the ball is in flight, the signal sounds indicating time has expired in the quarter. The try is successful. The official counts the basket. Is the official correct?

Yes (5-1, 2-1, 6-2-Exception1)

During a jump ball, the ball becomes live when the ball is legally tapped. Is this correct?

No (6-1-2a)

While A-1 is dribbling, teammate A-2 commits a common foul on B-2. The official rules this is a player control foul. Is the official correct?

No (4-12-2a)

A-1, after ending his/her dribble, fumbles the ball, recovers it with both hands and dribbles again. The official rules it a legal play. Is the official correct?

No (9-5-3)

During an interrupted dribble, in the front court, the official rules a 3 second violation. Is the official correct?

Yes (9-7-1; 4-12-2c)

A-1 has released the ball, on a throw-in, just prior to the official reaching the five second count. As the ball is in the air and before it is touched, the official sounds the whistle and rules a five second throw-in violation. Is the official correct?

No (9-2-4)

A-1's throw-in goes directly out of bounds without being touched. The official rules it a throw-in violation and awards team B the ball out of bounds nearest the spot where the ball went out of bounds. Is the official correct?

No (9-2-2, Penalty Section 2)

While A-1 is holding the ball, A-1 intentionally shoves B-1. The official rules it a player control foul. Is the official correct?

No (4-19-3,2)

During a free by team A, team B decides not to occupy the third marked lane space. A-3, who is in the middle lane space, requests permission to occupy the space. The official denies the request. Is the official correct?

No (8-1-4d,e,f)

During an interrupted dribble by A-1, the official inadvertently sounds the whistle. The possession arrow favors team B. The official resumes play with the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?

No (4-36)

A-1 commits his/her fifth foul and is disqualified. Prior to team A replacing A-1, team A requests a time-out. The official denies the request.

Yes (5-8-3b)

While A-1 is in the act of shooting and before releasing the ball, B-2 fouls A-2. A-1 continues the motion and scores. The official cancels the basket and penalizes the foul. Is the official correct?

No (6-7-Exceptionc)

Prior to A-1's free throw ending, B-1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane too soon, followed by A-2. A-1's try is unsuccessful. The official penalizes only the first free throw violation. Is the official correct?

Yes (9-1-3d, 4, Penalties-4a)

The coach of team A is charged with a direct technical foul. The official notifies the scorer that the foul does not count to reach the bonus. Is the official correct?

No (1-PenaltyNote)

Following a score by team A, thrower-in B-1 is moving along the end line and releases the ball. A-2 near the end line kicks the ball. The official awards the ball back to team B and rules it a designated spot throw-in. is the official correct?

No (7-5-7b)

A-1 is awarded two free throws. While A-1's first free throw is in flight, a double personal foul is committed. The try is unsuccessful. The official resumes play by awarding A-1 his/her second free throw and plays off the make or miss. Is the official correct?

Yes (6-7-5-Exceptionb; 10-Penalties-1c)

A-1, in an attempt to save the ball from going out of bounds, jumps into the air, A-1's momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds when he/she requests a time-out. The official denies the request. Is the official correct?

Yes (5-8-3a)

During a throw-in by team A, A-1's throw-in pass is deflected by B-1. As B-1 is attempting to get to the ball, A-2 commits a common foul on B-1. Team B is in the bonus. The official rules it a team control foul. Is the official correct?

Yes (4-12-2d, 3b)

A-1 receives the ball while moving, jumps off the right foot and lands simultaneously on both feet. A-1 lifts his/her right foot and starts a dribble. The official rules it a legal play. Is the official correct?

No (4-44-2b2, 4b)

Team B had been previously warned for huddling in the lane, when later in the game. Team B breaks the plane of the boundary line. The official issues another warning. Is the official correct?

No (4-47; 10-1-5c,d,e,f)

During A-1's dribble, the ball touches B-1's foot causing the ball to bounce away from A-1. A-1 recovers the ball with both hands and starts another dribble. The official rules it an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

No (9-5-2)

Team A coach confers with the officials to try to prevent or rectify a mistake in timing. After a brief discussion it is determined there was no error. The official charges ea A with a time-out. Is the official correct?

Yes (5-8-5; 5-11-4)

During a jump ball, jumper A-1 catches the ball before the jump ball ends. The official rules it a violation. Is the official correct?

Yes (6-3-7c)

A-2 fouls B-2, while A-1 is in the act of shooting. A-1 continues the motion and scores. The official disallows the basket. Is the official correct?

Yes (6-7-4)

A-1 secures a rebound and excessively swings his/her arms and elbows without making contact. The official rules it a violation. Is the official correct?

Yes (10-13-1)

Prior to the game, team A is assessed a technical foul. When the official places the ball at the disposal of B-1 for the first free throw, the official has the scorer set the possession arrow toward team A's basket. Is the official correct?

No (4-3-3b)

See More

Please allow access to your computer’s microphone to use Voice Recording.

Having trouble? Click here for help.

We can’t access your microphone!

Click the icon above to update your browser permissions above and try again

Example:

Reload the page to try again!

Reload

Press Cmd-0 to reset your zoom

Press Ctrl-0 to reset your zoom

It looks like your browser might be zoomed in or out. Your browser needs to be zoomed to a normal size to record audio.

Please upgrade Flash or install Chrome
to use Voice Recording.

For more help, see our troubleshooting page.

Your microphone is muted

For help fixing this issue, see this FAQ.

Star this term

You can study starred terms together

NEW! Voice Recording

Create Set