Requirements to obtain a Georgia Drivers License
1 - A person who has a permanant home or abode in Georgia and when absent has the intent to return
2 - A person who accepts employment or engages in any trade or occupation in Georgia or who enters child in school
3 - Any person that has been in the state for 30 days or more
Applicants under the age if 18 - auto or motorcycle
1 - Completion of Alchohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP)
2 - Satisfaction of school attendance or conduct requirements
3 - For class D proof completion of DDS driver education cours
4 - Evidence of at least 40 hours of supervised driving; six of which must be at night
New Georgia Residents
You must apply for a Georgia driver's license or permit within 30 days of becoming a Georgia resident.
Basic Traffic Laws
1 - Obey traffic control devices ( lights and signs)
2 - Obey the traffic directions of a law enforcement officer or firefighter, even if it goes against what the traffic control devices tell you to do
3 - Never drive on a roadway that has been close for construction, for the purpose of a special event or for any official event
Georgia Move-Over Law
Requires driver to move over on lane when possible if an emergency vehicle with flashing lights are parked on the shoulder of the highway. If traffic is too heavy to move over safely, the requires drivers to slow down below the posted speed limit AND prepare to stop
Violation of Move-Over-Law
Considered a moving violoation, assesed 3 points on their drivers license and may face $500 fine.
Pass On A Two-Lane Road
1 - Wait for passing zone to begin
2 - Be certain that no one is passing you. Before leaving your lane to begin passing, check your review mirror, and turn your head and look back to check you "Blind Spot".
3 - Pass on the left and do not return to the right lane until your vehicle is safely clear of the overtaken vehicle
4 - Activate your right signal before returning to the right lane. Be sure to turn your signal off once you have returned to the right lane
Passing is prohibited on two-lane roads
1 - In areas marked by a solid yellow line
2 - Within 100 feet of a railroad crossing
3 - Within 100 feet of a bridge, viaduct, or tunnel
4 - When a car is approaching for the opposite direction making passing unsafe
5 - On a hill or curve where it is impossible to see oncoming traffic
6 - On the shoulder of the road
7 - When a school bus is stopped to load or unload passengers
Passing is permitted
1 - Lawfully overtaking and passing another vehicle going in the same direction
2 - An obstruction makes it neccessary to drive to the left of the center line
3 - A roadway with more than one lane is restricted to one-way traffic.
When someone passes you
1 - Be alert for any unsafe actions by the other driver
2 - Reduce speed slightly
3 - Unlawful to increase speed until you have been completely passed.
Passing Stopped Cars
1 - At a crosswalk the vehicle approaching from rear shall not overtake and passed stopped vehicle
2 - Slow Down and prepare to stop if you are approaching an intersection where other vehicle are stopped, even though the traffic signal authorizes to proceed.
3 - When stopping to allow a pedestrian to cross in front of you, leave sufficient room so other can see the entirety of the crosswalk.
1 - Have same rights as motorists
2 - Are permitted to travel on the center of traffic
3 - Pass with caution
4 - Do not pass while remaining in the same lane of traffic
1 - Legally occupies the full width of a single lane
2 - Drive must pass adjacent lane
3 - Not permitted to occupy the same lane while passing
Unlawful to weave from one lane to another to move faster than the flow of traffic.
Against law to flash signals as a courtesy OR "Do pass" signal driver in the rear