Question types

Start with

Question limit

of 34 available terms

Advertisement Upgrade to remove ads
Print test

5 Written questions

5 Matching questions

  1. What are the current goals of ICD-9?
  2. What are slanted brackets used for
  3. How many digits does a subclassification code have
  4. What does NEC stand for
  5. In the Alphabetic Index of Volume 2, ICD-9-CM, nonessential modifiers are:
  1. a Facilitate payment of health services,
    Evaluate patient's use of health care facilities,
    Study health care costs,
    Research the quality of health care,
    Predict health care trends,
    Plan for future health care needs
  2. b Enclose an additional code which must be used
  3. c Terms enclosed in parentheses that have no effect on the selection of the code listed for the main term
  4. d 5
  5. e Not elsewhere classifiable

5 Multiple choice questions

  1. International Classification of Diseases, 9th Edition, Clinical Modification
  2. 4
  3. To record patient morbidity (illness) and mortality (death) for statistical purposes
  4. True
  5. World Health Organization (WHO)

5 True/False questions

  1. All ICD-9-CM codes must be supported by:Annually


  2. True or False:
    Three-digit codes (such as 250) are category codes.


  3. True or False:
    The term in bold face print in the Alphabetic Index is called a subterm


  4. What volume of the ICD-9-CM is used by hospitals to report inpatient procedures?To justify why they are being performed.


  5. True or False:
    When a code is listed inside slanted brackets, you must sequence that code after the underlying condition code.


Create Set