10 terms

Forming a New Government-Development of the Constitution of the United States

Weaknesses in the Articles of Confederation
led to the effort to draft a new constitution.
Constitutional Convention
State delegates met in Philadelphia and decided not to revise the Articles of Confederation but to write a new constitution.
George Washington
was elected president of the Constitutional Convention.
Delegates debated over
how much power should be given to the new government and how large and small states should be represented.
The new national government included three separate branches of government:
legislative, executive, and judicial.
The Great Compromise
decided how many votes each state had in the Senate and the House of Representatives.
The Constitution was signed
at the end of the convention.
Ratification of the Constitution
9 of the 13 states had to vote in favor of the Constitution before it could become law.
Bill of Rights
Based on the Virginia Declaration of Rights (George Mason) and the Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom (Thomas Jefferson).
The first 10 amendments to the Constitution
provide a written guarantee of individual rights (freedom of speech, freedom of religion).