22 terms

Canterbury Tales Travelers

The Knight
Aristocrat- A man who represents chivalry and honor
The Squire
Aristocrat- The knight's son, known as a lady's man
The Prioress
Aristocrat- A high-ranking nun and an elegant, delicate lady
The Nun's Priest
Aristocrat- A priest who accompanies the nuns on their pilgrimage
The Second Nun
Aristocrat- A devout nun who believes that idleness leads to sin
Canon's Yeoman
Aristocrat- The Canon's servant, who joins the pilgrims on their to Canterbury (not mentioned in the Prologue)
The Monk
Aristocrat- A lover of hunting
The Friar
Aristocrat- A talented and wealthy beggar; member of a religious order
The Merchant
Upper Class- A shrewd trader
The Man of Law
Upper Class- A lawyer
The Clerk
Upper Class- A lover of learning who spends all of his money on books
The Franklin
Upper Class- A wealthy landowner
The Cook
Middle Class- A man skilled as a chef
The Shipman
Middle Class- A world-traveler
The Physician
Middle Class- A medical doctor
The Wife of Bath
Middle Class- A woman who has had five husbands
The Parson
Virtuous Lower Class- A poor but virtuous preacher who is the model clergyman, humble and devoted to his flock
The Manciple
Degraded Lower Class- A steward for the law school
The Miller
Degraded Lower Class- A strong, vulgar dealer in grain
The Reeve
Degraded Lower Class- An old and irritable estate manager
The Summoner
Degraded Lower Class- An officer of the church who calls people to trial
The Pardoner
Degraded Lower Class- A seller of religious artifacts who boasts of his cons