Tennis Drill - 22 The Let During a Serve + The Let
A flash card drill set to learn the USTA Rules of Tennis, for Chapter 23. The Rules of Tennis are provided in Part 1 of the USTA's publication Friend at Court. The flashcard set is based on the 2012 Friend at Court.
What happens when the server is interrupted during the delivery of a 2nd serve?
The whole point is replayed. The server gets 2 serves.
A ball from another court rolls onto your court while the point is in play. You call a let. How many serves does the server get.
2 serves. When a let is called, the point is completely replayed, including giving the server 2 serves. It does not matter that the server served one serve that was a let.
What is the one exception to the 2-serve rule when calling a let?
If the let is called on a 2nd serve, the server only gets one serve.
During a serve the ball touches the net (or the strap or the band) and then touches the receiver's clothing, who wins the point?
No one. This situation produces a let and the serve is replayed.
What happens when the server serves the ball but the receiver is not ready?
The ball is considered a let and the serve is replayed.
List the 3 situations that produce a let during a serve
The ball strikes the net and drops good in the service court The ball strikes the net and strikes the receiver or the receiver's clothing The server serves the ball but the receiver is not ready
True or False - If the server serves a let, the serve does not count.
May the receiver claim a let if the server loses control of the racket and it flies out of his hand and it lands in the server's court during the serve?
No. Such an occurrence is not that unusual. The let rules implies that if something occurs that is unusual or unexpected, a let could be called.
Who can call a let?
Only an official or player may call a let. The let can only be called by the players on the court where the let occurs. A player on another court cannot call a let on your court.
When a let occurs, what happens?
The whole point is replayed, meaning that the point is not won or lost -- it is played again -- and the server gets 2 serves.
A receiver suddenly has a contact lens problem during a 2nd serve. He waves his hand and runs off to fix the problem. What should happen?
The receiver has caused a delay between first and second serves. The server can call a let so that the entire point is replayed.
What happens when an Official causes a delay between the 1st and 2nd serves?
The entire point is replayed, meaning the server can serve a 1st serve.
If the server breaks a string hitting the 1st serve and runs off the court to get a new racquet, is this a let or does the serve only get a 2nd serve?
If the server causes a delay between the 1st and 2nd serve, the server only gets 1 more serve.
A spectator calls "out" or "fault" while the point is in play. Is this sufficient to call a let and replay the point?
No. An "out" call by a spectator or a ringing phone in the stands, or loud grunting on the next court, are not considered sufficient grounds for calling a let.
If a spectator calls "fault" during a point, what should happen?
Action should be taken to prevent further interference by the spectator. The Chair Umpire should request that spectators refrain from calling out line calls, for example.
If the server causes a delay between the 1st and 2nd servers, because his contacts malfunctioned, is this a let?
No. If the server causes a delay between the 1st and 2nd serve, the server only gets one serve, the 2nd serve.
Can a player on an adjacent court call a let on your court?
If the server serves a 1st serve and it hits the net and the ball drops and stops near the net on the servers side of the court, the opponent has the right to request that the ball be cleared. If the opponent asks the server to clear the ball, is this a let?
Hmm. Not sure about this one, but I would argue that the receiver called the delay, so the server should be entitled to a let and 2 serves. However, no one plays this way, so I think maybe this situation does NOT cause a let.