Of Spain by Colin Cowles

Colin Cowles
contemporary english composer born 1940, noted for saxophone works and his education books, son of a bassoonist, studied at Trinity College of Msuic in London studying composition and piano/organ, became a performing bassoonist later in life
Works by Cowles
Ballet symphony, viola and saxophone concertos, chamber music, film and TV music, music for brass, woodwind, quartet - Realm of the Swan (orchestra), Heard Whilst Walking (accappela SATB), Concertante for Sax quartet and Strings
In a smooth singing style
Held in a prolonged manner, sustained
Period piece is from
Contemporary classical, 1975 - present - virtuoso pieces which displays technique, shows modernism and is very innovative
Stylistic Characteristics
Art music, contrasting sections, very expressive, some small pieces of melodic material repeated throughout (motif)