Like this study set? Create a free account to save it.

Sign up for an account

Already have a Quizlet account? .

Create an account

The three major types of rocks are?

sedimentary, igneous, and metamorphic.


The process of breaking down rocks into smaller pieces.

divergent boundary

where two plates pull away from each other and magma rises up between them forming a ridge.


when two plates collide and the more dense oceanic crust gets pushed under the less dense continental crust forming a volcano.


he is know for his observations and ideas that led to the Theory of Plate Tectonics.

the order of the three major layers from outermost to innermost are

crust, mantle, core


a continent that existed millions of years ago and was made of all of today's separate continents joined together.


made up of slow moving plates where the plates are able to move because they sit on a layer of magma.

convergent plate boundaries

plates that are responsible for mountain range such as the Andes Mountains. They come together and collide.

deposition (deposits)

particles of rock that are dropped off and deposited by wind, water, and ice.

Please allow access to your computer’s microphone to use Voice Recording.

Having trouble? Click here for help.

We can’t access your microphone!

Click the icon above to update your browser permissions and try again


Reload the page to try again!


Press Cmd-0 to reset your zoom

Press Ctrl-0 to reset your zoom

It looks like your browser might be zoomed in or out. Your browser needs to be zoomed to a normal size to record audio.

Please upgrade Flash or install Chrome
to use Voice Recording.

For more help, see our troubleshooting page.

Your microphone is muted

For help fixing this issue, see this FAQ.

Star this term

You can study starred terms together

Voice Recording