27 terms

27 Amendments

First Ten Amendments are "the bill of rights"
1st Amendment
Freedom of speech, press, religion, assembly and petition
2nd Amendment
Right to bear arms
3rd amendment
Citizens do not have to house soldiers.
4th amendment
No unreasonable search or arrest.
5th amendment
Habeas Corpus, due process. No double jeopardy or no witness against yourself.
6th amendment
Rights of accused in criminal cases.
7th amendment
Trial by jury in federal court.
8th amendment
No excessive bail or cruel punishment.
9th amendment
People get rights not listed in Constitution
10th amendment
Any rights not given to the federal government are given to the states and people.
11th amendment
Individual can not sue a state in federal court. Clearly defines original jurisdiction of Supreme Court.
12th amendment
Electoral College for selecting president/vice president. Separate ballots for President and Vice resident.
13th amendment
Abolish slavery
14th amendment
If you were born a naturalized in the U.S. then you are a citizen of the United States.
15th amendment
You cannot prevent a person from voting because of race, color or creed.
16th amendment
Established Federal Income Tax system.
17th amendment
Established popular vote for senators
18th amendment
19th amendment
Women get the right to vote.
20th amendment
President takes office on January 20th instead of March 4th.
21st amendment
Repeal prohibition
22nd amendment
President can only serve 2 terms.
23rd amendment
Washington DC residents can vote for president.
24th amendment
Anti-poll tax. Ended poll taxes.
25th amendment
How president turns duties over to the vice president due to illness.
26th amendment
All citizens 18 years of age, and over get to vote.
27th amendment
Legislators cannot give themselves pay raises in an election year. Congress cannot accept a pay raise until the next term.