27 terms

27 Amendments

The 27 amendments and their descriptions.
1st Amendment
Freedom of Religion, speech, press, assembly and petition.
2nd Amendent
Right to keep, bear arms.
3rd Amendment
Lodging troops in private homes.
4th Amendment
Search, seizures, proper warrant.
5th Amendment
Criminal proceedings, due process, eminent domain.
6th Amendment
Criminal proceedings.
7th Amendment
Jury trials in civil cases.
8th Amendment
Bail, cruel and unusual punishment.
9th Amendment
Unenumerated rights.
10th Amendment
Powers reserved to the states.
11th Amendment
Immunity of states from certain suits.
12th Amendment
Changes in the electoral college procedures.
13th Amendment
Prohibition of slavery.
14th Amendment
Citizenship, due process, equal protection.
15th Amendment
No denial of vote because of race, color, previous condition of servitude.
16th Amendment
Power of congress to tax incomes.
17th Amendment
Popular election of U.S. senators.
18th Amendment
Prohibition of alcohol.
19th Amendment
Women's suffrage.
20th Amendment
Change of dates for start of presidential, congressional terms.
21th Amendment
Repeal of prohibition.
22nd Amendment
Limit on presidential tenure.
23rd Amendment
District of Columbia electoral vote.
24th Amendment
Ban on tax pay went as voter qualified.
25th Amendment
Presidential succession, vice president vacancy, and presidential disability.
26th Amendment
Minimum voting age no higher than 18.
27th Amendment
Congressional pay.