Question types

Start with

Question limit

of 54 available terms

Advertisement Upgrade to remove ads
Print test

5 Written questions

5 Matching questions

  1. MHC restriction
  2. Isotype switch
  3. Type I hypersensitivity
  4. Germinal centre
  5. Epitope
  1. a Antigenic determinants or epitopes are specific regions of molecule that an antibody recognizes.
  2. b A given variable region can be expressed with any of the different constant regions through a mechanism known as isotype switching. Is dependent on circulating cytokines.
  3. c Immediate type hypersensitivity response, antibody mediated IgE, soluble antigen, mast cell effector
  4. d Areas in secondary lymphoid tissue that is a site of intense B-cell proliferation, maturation and death. They form around follicular dendritic cells.
  5. e When T-cell recognizes both peptide and MHC molecule, occurs during positive selection of T-cell maturation causing the T-cell to lose one of its two co-receptors CD4 or CD8.

5 Multiple choice questions

  1. Stimulated b-cells that are proliferating in the germinal centers.
  2. Opsonisation is the coating of the pathogen with Ig molecules for their preparation and identification for phagocytosis. There is no cross linking of Ig's
  3. Cell surface glycoprotein on T-cells that recognizes MHC1 on APC's
  4. Drive b-cells to differentiate and produce immunoglobulins of all other types. Also responsible for initiating B-cell responses by activating naïve B-cells to proliferate and secrete IgM. Leads to Humoral immunity.
  5. When an immature B-cell binds soluble antigen, they are inactivated but not killed.

5 True/False questions

  1. OpsonisationThe first stage in type 1 allergic response. Allergen in exposed to person. Processed and presented to t-cells. Il's produced which act on b-cells to produce IgE activating mast cells.


  2. Ti antigenThymus independent antigens. TI can elicit antibody production in the absence of t cells. TI-1 activates non-specific b cells. TI-2 have multiple identical epitopes that cross link b cell receptors.


  3. ProteasomesFound in the cytosol used to degrade cytosolic proteins. LMP gene encodes them is found in the MHC2 coding region. Two types, Proteasome 26s and 20s. They Contain a19s cap that prevents the entry of non-tagged proteins. Both 20s or 26s proteasomes can operate independently of the 19s cap


  4. Innate ImmunitySecond line of defence non-adaptive/non-specific immunity. Involve the non-specific destruction of pathogens via macrophages, neutrophils, NK cells and circulating proteins of complement and acute phase proteins.


  5. GranzymesAre serine esterases present in the granules of a cytotoxic t cells and NK cells. On entering the cytosole of the target cell granzymes induce apoptosis of the target.