Anatomy Exam One: Developmental Stage

Why is it important to study embryology?
Click the card to flip 👆
1 / 13
Terms in this set (13)
Name the three primary germ layers. What do each of them become?Ectoderm, mesoderm, and endoderm Ectoderm: Forms skin and nerves. Mesoderm: Forms muscles, connective tissue, blood cells, heart, the urogenital system, and parts of most of the internal organs. Endoderm: Forms the liver, pancreas and epithelial lining of the respiratory and digestive tubes.When does the embryonic period occur?The embryonic period stretches from fertilization to the end of the eighth week. During the embryonic period the major organ systems develop and the embryo becomes recognizable as a human being.When does the fetal period occur?The fetal period extends from the ninth week of pregnancy to birth. Development during the fetal period is primarily concerned with rapid growth of the body and differentiation of tissues and organs that started to develop during the embryonic period.