Upgrade to remove ads
Driver's Ed. Module 5
Terms in this set (140)
How important is the integrity of identification cards
Must be accurate and authentic can be positively identified and not mistaken for a different person.
If you live in Florida and plan to drive on any public street...
you must have a driver's licesne within 30days of being a resident if you currently hold a valid license issued to another state
CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS THAT MAY BE EXEMPT FROM THE ABOVE MENTIONED LICENSING RULES:
Any1 employed b/ federal gov. & driving a gov.-issued vehicle while on official business or working for a firm under contract w/ federal government*there is a 60 day exemption in the latter case).
A person that is not a resident of Florida who is @ least 16 years of age.
Non-Florida resident who is attending a college or university in the state.
Any person who drives only vehicles such as farm tractors or road construction machines for a temporary period on the highway.
Any person that is not a resident and is a migrant farm worker (even if children are enrolled in state schools).
A non-resident who frequently travels back and forth between his or her home state for work.
Any member of the armed forces or his or her dependent (unless a ) he or she claims homestead exemption or b(he or she accepts non-military employment.
An initial step in the licensing process is the application. Your application must include:
o A statement affirming that all information included within the application is true.
o Your full name and gender.
o Both your country of residence and birth.
o Your Social Security number.
o Proof of your birth date.
1. Other items to include with the license application
o Your mailing address.
o If you have ever been licensed in another state, you need to include information about your record including any suspensions, revocation or refusals, and consent to release your record.
o Accurate proof of identification
1. Examples of acceptable documents to show as a primary source of identification
o A certified copy of a U.S. Birth Certificate or Resident Alien Card
o A valid license from another state or the District of Columbia
o U.S. Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad
o Proof of Indian Blood Degree, American Indian Card
o A U.S. Passport
o U.S. Armed Forces ID Cards
o Certificate of Naturalization, Certificate of Citizenship
o An alien registration receipt (green card), employment authorization card, a proof of non-immigrant classification, or order of an immigration judge/officer that allows and you to live and work in the United States.
1. SOME SECONDARY FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION
There are numerous other forms of identification that can be used in addition to the primary source of identification. These include, but are not limited to:
o A baptism certificate that includes a date of birth and place of baptism.
o A military ID.
o A draft card.
o A marriage certificate.
o A Social Security card.
o A state issued ID (non-drivers license).
1. According to section 322.212 (5) in Florida Statutes
using a false or fictitious name in a drivers license or ID application is a third degree felony. Anyone who knowingly violates this law faces immediate arrest. The penalties if convicted of this fraudulent act include a fine of up to $5,000 and imprisonment of up to five years. Suspension of the driving privilege for one year will also be included in the penalty.
1. If you are a non-U.S. citizen,
according to state law you must show proof of birth date, a Social Security number (if you have one), and proper identification before you can be issued a drivers license. The form of identification needed varies according to the immigration status of the applicant.
1. You can be considered a state resident if:
o You register to vote within any Florida county.
o You accept employment in the state.
o You live in Florida for more than six months at a time.
o You file for a homestead exemption.
o You enroll your children in any public school.
The homestead exemption
a legal regime designed to protect the value of the homes of residents from property taxes, creditors, and circumstances arising from the death of the homeowner spouse. Laws are found in state statutes or constitutional provisions which exist in many states in the United States.
In order to get a drivers license in the state of Florida
you will need to list any physical or mental conditions that may affect your driving on your license application. However, you may able to drive even with certain physical limitations if restrictions are placed on your license. (Your doctor may have to complete a medical report form.)
1. For a Class E (non-commercial vehicle) License
, applicants must take vision and hearing tests as well as pass a Class E road rules/road signs exam
Any person who holds a valid license from another U.S. state, or from a U.S. possession, Canada or France need only
take a vision test unless their driving appears questionable.
If you hold a license from Germany or Taiwan
you will be required to take a vision, hearing, and written exam. The driving test can usually be waived.
1. The drivers license examination should prove that you can read important features (road markings or signs and signals
know the driving rules in Florida, can see well enough to properly handle a vehicle, and don't have any physical or mental impairments that would adversely affect your driving ability.
Above all, driving exams are meant to test your driving skills and abilities.
THE VISION TEST
You need to pass a vision test to be eligible for a drivers license and meet the DHSMV vision standards described in previous module "The Driver."
If you need to wear corrective lenses in order to pass the vision test it will be noted on your license. However, if you use telescopic lenses you are not eligible for a drivers license.
THE WRITTEN TEST
Most applicants will be required to take an exam testing knowledge of road rules and road signs. Each portion will consist of 20 questions and the applicant will be expected to correctly answer at least 15 questions. For the road sign portion, you will be expected to correctly identify signs by their function, shape, or color. For the road rules section, you must identify Florida traffic laws.
THE DRIVING TEST:
The first aspect of the road test is the vehicle inspection. Your car will be inspected to make sure it is suitable for a road test. You must provide a vehicle with a valid registration to be used during the testing. You will also be required to do the following:
Provide proof of personal injury insurance coverage.
You must be accompanied by a licensed driver at the time of the exam if you do not have a license yourself. However, no person may accompany you and the examiner during the actual driving test.
During the test, you will be expected to complete the following maneuvers:
Turning, coming to a crossing, shifting gears, following right-of-way rules, backing
you must be able to turn the vehicle around in a 30 to 40 degree space.
Coming to a crossing
you need to show that you are able to get in the correct lane (in the correct gear) and look both ways.
if you are operating a vehicle with a manual transmission, you need to show that you can shift gears properly.
Following right-of-way rules
this includes proper procedures for sharing the road with emergency vehicles, pedestrians, and other traffic.
back for a distance of 50 ft at a slow speed without using the rear view mirror.
Other things you need to know
Starting and stopping on a grade
Making quick stops—you must be able to prove that you can make this stop from a speed of 20 mph.
Following stop signs and signals
Using turn signals and following through on the turn
Passing other vehicles
Following vehicles from a safe distance
Staying within the proper lane
If you make any mistakes during your driving exam
the examiner will note them.
If you fail your exam,
you will be expected to practice and study driving issues before you return to retest.
When you pass,
you will be expected to pay a fee and will be issued a license.
If you return your Learners License,
you will not be charged any additional fees for a Class E (non-commercial) License.
It is against the law
according to section 322.36 of the Florida Statutes, for any person to allow a motor vehicle to be operated by someone who does not hold a valid drivers license.
According to the Florida Driver's Handbook,
anybody who holds a current Learners License needs to be, "...accompanied by a licensed driver, 21 years of age or older, who occupies the front seat closest to the right of the driver."
Students with a Learners License may not receive a motorcycle endorsement and must operate within the following restrictions:
The license holder can only drive in daylight during the first three months of his or her licensing period.
He or she must be accompanied by a driver who a) holds a valid license, b) is 21 years old or older, and c) remains in the front passenger seat.
After the initial three month period, the student may drive between 6 a.m. until 10 p.m. (same conditions of accompaniment apply).
The following requirements must also be met before a Learners License can be granted:
The applicant must be 15 years old or older (and attending school if under 18).
There must be a consent form with a notarized signature of a parent or guardian (signing in the presence of the examiner is allowed) if the applicant is under 18 years old (stepparents may not sign unless the applicant is legally adopted by the stepparent).
He or she must pass a vision test as well as a road rules/ road signs exam.
He or she must present two forms of identification as well as a Social Security number.
The applicant must have also completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse education course.
are available for drivers between the ages of 16 and 17. You must have held a Learners License for at least one year without any traffic convictions to receive this type of license.
When applying for an Operator's License, you must show:
A Florida Learners License or a license from another jurisdiction.
Parent or guardian certification that you have completed at least fifty hours of behind-the-wheel drivers training, with ten hours completed at night.
You will be expected to take a driving test unless you can present a waiver from an accepted drivers education course.
Operator's License Restrictions:
If a driver is 16 years old, he or she may only drive between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old who is in the front passenger seat, or if traveling for work.
If a driver is 17 years old, he or she may drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old who is in the front passenger seat, or if traveling for work.
The law states that you must obtain a new license with your new address within ten days of moving...
You may do this by phone, mail, online, or in person at your local DHSMV office.
You will be issued a sticker for the back of your license. If you were issued a digital license, you will receive a new license and must destroy the previously issued license.
The law states that you must obtain a new license with your new address within
ten days of moving. You may do this by phone, mail, online, or in person at your local DHSMV office.
You will be issued a sticker for the back of your license. If you were issued a digital license, you will receive a new license and must destroy the previously issued license.
Failing to report a change in address may cause you to
miss important mailings regarding registration renewal or other updates. You could be issued a ticket if pulled over by law enforcement and have an outdated address.
If your drivers license or ID card has been lost, stolen, or destroyed
you may apply for a replacement online if your citizenship has already been verified on your record.
You may also go to your local licensing office and apply for a replacement. To do so you must pay a $25 fee. If you have proof that the license was stolen (like a police report), the fee may be waived. You must also show two forms of identification. In some cases, you may be asked to show proof of legal presence.
If you are out-of-state temporarily and need a license replacement
you can receive a temporary 90-day permit if you make a request in writing or via email.
In the case of military personnel stationed outside of the state, you may
you may make a request online or through the mail to receive a 90-day temporary permit and further instruction for renewal.
The basic fees for licensing vary according to the type of license required. Currently, these fees are:
Commercial drivers license—$75
First Florida license or original learners license—$48
Class E License renewal or learners license renewal—$48
Replacement license in case of loss—$25 (no charge if stolen and police report filed)
Other fees may apply. Contact your local DHSMV branch office for more information.
a penalty system exists that notes infractions made by the driver. Points are assigned for each infraction and a certain amount of points on your record can cause you to have your driving privileges restricted or revoked.
It is important for teen drivers to note that if 6 points are attached your driving record in a 12 month period,
your driving privileges will be automatically restricted to only business—related driving for 12 months or until you turn 18 years old, whichever happens first.
There will be an additional 90 days attached for each point added during the restriction period.
Excessive points will lead to the following suspensions:
12 points within a 12-month period—not more than a 30 day suspension
18 points within an 18-month period—not more than a 3 month suspension
24 points within a 36-month period—not more than a 1 year suspension
Here are some examples of point-earning offenses:
Points for Speeding
15 mph or less over lawful or posted speed limit—3 points
16 mph or more over lawful or posted speed—4 points
Speeding resulting in a collision—6 points
Points for Moving Violations
Moving violation (includes driving during restricted hours)—3 points
Moving violation resulting in a collision—4 points
Reckless driving—4 points
Improper lane change—3 points
Leaving the scene of an accident with more than $50 worth of property damage—6 points
Passing a stopped school bus—4 points
Ignoring a traffic control device —4 points
Having an open container of alcohol—3 points
Child restraint violation—3 points
All other moving violations—3 points
Driving is a...
complex and often demanding task, even for the best of drivers.
Driving is navigating your vehicle through a number of complex driving environments—
all while following the rules and regulations of the road
During the trip,
you will constantly interact with all of the elements that make up the highway traffic system and driving environment: your vehicle, the roadway, other road users, weather conditions, and unexpected hazards.
The purpose of the highway traffic system (HTS)
to facilitate the efficient movement of both people and goods throughout the U.S. Like the blood pumping through your veins, critical to keep your body functioning and healthy, the U.S. highway traffic system works in much the same way—it's a critical infrastructure that helps support U.S. industries and allows you to go virtually anywhere in the continental United States.
Since there are many variables to consider while using the HTS,
you must be very careful to follow the laws of the road and help maintain a safe driving environment despite high speeds and a large number of other road users.
America is a nation on wheels—we benefit from a freedom of mobility that is unrivaled anywhere in the world. A substantial portion of that mobility is attributable to the Dwight D. Eisenhower System of Interstate and Defense Highways, which was developed in 1956. The interstate highway system, the largest public works program in history, has had an enormous impact on the nation.
The interstate highway system has positively influenced economic growth, reduced traffic deaths and injuries, provided substantial benefits to users, and been a crucial factor in the nation's defense.
The United States Highway System is an integrated system of roads in the United States numbered within a nationwide grid. These highways are coordinated by the U.S. Department of Transportation.
Florida has several roads that are designated as part of the National Highway System.
The DHSMV has separate divisions, each with their own responsibilities. Together, these divisions work to help regulate the rules of the road and keep Florida highways safe. It is critical to follow the guidance of this agency, since it is looking out for public safety.
The Division of Driver Licenses
ensures that qualified drivers have the ability to operate a vehicle on state highways. The ultimate goal is to keep standards high and prevent hazardous drivers from operating any motor vehicles.
The Division of the Florida Highway Patrol
an enforcement sector that patrols state highways and ensures the safety of drivers and citizens while on the road.
The Division of Motor Vehicles monitors the sale and registration of vehicles and vessels within the state. This includes keeping records of every car, truck, trailer, motorcycle, and camper that is registered or found on Florida highways. In addition, this division administers the distribution of license plates through county tag agents and tax collectors and enforces mobile home construction standards.
The Florida Department of Transportation
offers many services that serve the public. The branch of the Safety Office attempts to ensure the safety of Florida highway system users and also assists in emergencies.
Other goals of the Safety Office...
include the development of safety programs using engineering, education, emergency services, and law enforcement that reduce hazards and collisions for drivers, pedestrians, and other road users. This includes the Community Traffic Safety Teams (CTST) and the Highway Safety Grant Program.
If you own a vehicle in the state of Florida and are employed within the state or you enroll children in public schools
you must register the vehicle and obtain a license plate. This process must happen within 10 days of employment or enrollment. You must also make sure to obtain a Certificate of Title within the state if an out-of-state financial institution holds the title and will not release it to Florida.
You must prove ownership (by providing a title) and possession of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance (by showing a valid insurance card or other proof) in order to
receive your license plate and registration certificate.
If your vehicle was registered in another state, the VIN (vehicle identification number)
must be verified by an official before it can be titled or registered within Florida. New vehicles do not need to go through this process.
You may submit an application for registration, license plates, or title at any tax collector's office in the state of Florida.
The cost of your plate will vary according to the weight and type of the registered vehicle. If you purchase your vehicle within the state from a dealer, the dealer must apply for these items for you. It is necessary at all times for you to have a license plate on your vehicle and you must always carry proof of registration while driving.
If you obtain your vehicle from an individual,
make sure you receive the title from this person and apply for a title in your name. Applications for certificate of title and registration and license plates can be submitted concurrently. However, you won't be able to receive plates until you prove ownership with a title.
Any first-time Florida drivers license holders who have a valid license
should register their vehicle in Florida before a drivers license is issued.
Renewal of Registration or license plates must occur each year, before or on the birthday of the first listed vehicle owner (registration expire at midnight on this day). During this time, and every time you renew, you must show proof of insurance. Exemptions to this are:
Vehicles owned by companies and corporations and some commercial vehicles—renew yearly by June 30.
Mobile homes—renew yearly by December 31.
Truck-tractors and semi-trailers—renew yearly by December 31.
is the cause of many collisions and speeding has the highest conviction rate of any vehicle-related offense. If you do not obey posted speed limits, not only will you be cited, but there is also tremendous potential for you to collide with another vehicle and cause injury and damage.
It is important to know that the posted speed limit is the highest speed that you should drive when road conditions are good.
If the road surface or visibility is compromised in any way, such as by traffic congestion or bad weather, you must adjust your speed. Stay at a speed where you can maintain complete control of your car.
Municipal Speed Areas:
Business or Residential Area
Limited Access Highways
All Other Roads and Highways
You may notice changes to the speed limit as you travel through zones.
The maximum speed limit of 55 mph is in effect through much of the state, although conditions may dictate a change in speed. Some rural interstate highways may post an exception to this (where the limit is often 70 mph), but drivers should make sure to be aware of posted limits.
Along with following the posted speed limit,
drivers should also concern themselves with following traffic flow. Driving at slower speeds may impede other vehicles on the road traveling at normal and safe speeds and could result in a ticket for driving too slowly. For example, if the posted speed limit is 70 mph, the lowest legal speed would be 50 mph.
The right-of-way laws in Florida
state only who must yield in certain circumstances. However, the community of travelers (drivers, cyclists, motorcyclists, truckers, moped riders, and pedestrians) must all work together to avoid hazardous incidents and collisions.
Drivers approaching a stop sign must yield the right-of-way to all other traffic or pedestrians already at the intersection. When the road is clear, the driver may proceed. If two vehicles reach the intersection at the same time and both sides have a stop sign, the vehicle on the left must yield to the vehicle on the right. For four-way stop intersections, the first vehicle to reach the intersection has the right-of-way and must move first.
two kinds of intersections
pen intersections and controlled intersections.
two kinds of intersections
do not have traffic control signs or signals.
When a driver approaches this type of intersection, he or she must yield the right-of-way if:
The driver intends to make a left turn and a vehicle is approaching from the opposite direction.
A vehicle is already in the intersection.
The driver intends to enter or cross a state highway from a secondary road.
The driver is entering a paved road from an unpaved road.
When two vehicles reach an open intersection at the same time
the vehicle on the left must yield to the vehicle on the right.
(sometimes called rotaries) are designed to improve the flow of traffic and reduce collisions. In most cases, drivers are not required to stop, but rather move through the intersection in a counterclockwise direction at a slow speed. Right-of-way is determined by the locations of each vehicle. Drivers traveling towards the roundabout yield to vehicles already moving through the roundabout. However, you should always observe all posted signs to determine who has the right-of-way in each circumstance.
When approaching an intersection, drivers should slow down and look for bicyclists and yield to any cyclist already entering the intersection.
If making a turn, you should signal before passing through the bike lane and finish making the turn from the designated right turn lane. If there is no right turn lane, look for cyclists. If there are no cyclists, enter the bike lane at the intersection or driveway.
Many collisions are caused by
drivers not turning correctly. Many of these incidents can be avoided by following some simple methods.
According to the Florida Driver's Handbook, there are nine steps in making a good turn. They are listed here:
1. Make up your mind about your turn before you get to the turning point. Turn signals are required when changing lanes. Never make "last minute" turns.
2. If you must change lanes, look behind and to both sides to see where other vehicles are located before making your turn.
3. Move into the correct lane as you near the intersection. The correct lane for the right turn is the lane next to the right edge of the roadway. On a two-lane road with traffic in both directions, an approach for a left turn should be made from near the center line.
4. Signal for at least the last 100 feet before you make your turn. Let other drivers know what you are planning to do.
5. Slow down to a safe turning speed.
6. When you are slowing to make a right turn, the bicyclist you passed may be catching up to you. Search over your shoulder before turning. Yield to bicyclists and pedestrians.
7. Yield to pedestrians who may be crossing your path when turning left. Always scan for pedestrians before starting the turn.
8. Make the turn and stay in the proper lane. Yield the right-of-way to vehicles (including bicycles) coming from the opposite direction.
9. Finish your turn in the proper lane. A right turn should be from the right lane into the right lane of the roadway entered. A left turn may be completed in any lane lawfully available, or safe, for the desired direction of travel.
If you reach an intersection where you wish to make a right or left turn and are not in the proper lane, you should drive to the next intersection...
Then make the turn from the proper lane.
Signal to other drivers when you plan to turn left or right, slow down, or stop. Hand signals may be used in case your vehicle's turn signals don't work or if bright sunlight makes signal lights hard to see
Motorcyclists often use hand signals to make themselves more visible. Bicycle riders may also use the hand signals.
LEFT TURN SIGNAL BY HAND.
hand is straight out.
Right turn signal by hand.
hand is facing straight up.
Slow or stop signal by hand
Hand and arm is facing downward.
The Florida Driver's Handbook gives the following tips for passing other vehicles on a roadway.
Stay a safe distance behind the vehicle you want to pass. The closer you get to the vehicle you want to pass, the less you can see ahead. This is especially true when passing trucks, trailers, and other large vehicles.
Before you pull out to pass, check your blind spots and make sure that you have plenty of time and room to pass.
On a two-lane road, tap your horn, or at night flash your headlights to let the other driver know you are passing.
Give your signal before you move into the left lane.
Do not return to the right side of the road until you can see both headlights of the vehicle you passed in your rearview mirror.
You must return to the right side of the road before coming within 200 ft of any vehicle coming from the opposite direction.
According to the Florida Driver's Handbook:
Passing on the right is only legal when there are two or more lanes of traffic moving in the same direction or the vehicle you are passing is making a left turn. Pulling off the roadway to pass on the right is against the law.
When another vehicle on the road is attempting to pass you...
try to move to the right side of the lane you are driving in and do not speed up until the other vehicle has passed.
If traveling in a two-lane road with traffic coming from the opposite direction, you may not pass other vehicles in the following circumstances or else you may be cited. YOU MAY EVEN BE ARRESTED:
If you are at an intersection.
If a DO NOT PASS or NO PASSING ZONE sign is posted.
If a solid yellow line is on your side of the center line.
When traveling on hills or curves.
When traveling within 100 ft of a bridge, tunnel, rail crossing, or viaduct.
The two-second rule should be used to gauge the appropriate distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you. To do this:
Notice the vehicle ahead of you when it passes a marker such as a sign, mailbox, or other fixed point.
Count (in seconds) the time it takes you to reach the same point.
You are too close if you reach the same point in less than two seconds. Reduce your speed and follow the same procedure to check again.
Adjust the time and distance in poor weather or road conditions or when following a trailer or recreational vehicle. You will need more time to react in these situations.
On highways (not roadways within cities or towns) a truck or other vehicle that is towing may not follow within 300 ft of another truck or towing vehicle.
This rule does not apply to passing another vehicle.
Check to see that passengers are all safely inside, doors fully closed
Lock the doors and place the key in the ignition
Fasten your seat belt, and make sure all passengers are buckled up
Check the driver seat
Adjust the seat for foot pedal
Adjust for steering wheel reach and hand position
Adjust for good visual lanes
Check seat belts and head restraints
Adjust your seat belt and shoulder harness to ensure that they are firm and comfortable. The seat belts should be worn low and snug on the hips and tight across the shoulder.
Head restraint position should be adjusted to maximize rear and side protection
Adjust the rearview and side mirrors. Always adjust mirrors after adjusting your seat.
Before you start your vehicle...
you should adjust all the ventilation controls (e.g. vents, windows, air conditioner etc.), to provide fresh air and maintain a comfortable temperature during the drive. Fresh air helps reduce the effects of any exhaust that may get into the vehicle.
Some rules for parking on a public road:
Always stop in a legal, secure parking space.
Maneuver as far away from traffic as you can, pulling to the shoulder of the road or close to the curb.
Always park on the right side (except when on a one-way street) not more than a foot away from the curb.
Set the parking brake.
Put the car gear in park for automatic transmission or in reverse for manual transmission.
Turn off the ignition and remove your keys (Florida law states that you must do this) before exiting and locking the car.
Before you open the car door and leave, make sure the road is clear and you are not in danger of being hit by traffic.
parking at a straight-in parking space,
your vehicle should be at the center of the space with no portion protruding into traffic.
When exiting the parking space,
check to make sure the road is clear, use your turn signal to indicate your intentions, and yield to any other traffic.
Parking with the vehicle facing downhill with a curb:
you must turn your vehicle's front wheels into the curb or, in other words, toward the side of the road. REMEMBER TO SET THE PARKING BRAKE.
Parking with the vehicle facing uphill with a curb:
you must turn your vehicle's front wheels away from the curb and let your vehicle roll back until the rear of one front wheel makes contact with the curb. SET THE PARKING BRAKE.
When parking on a hill, if there is no curb, turn the vehicle's front wheels toward the side of the road, so if the brakes fail, the car will roll away from the road and not into the path of other vehicles
This applies to both uphill parking and downhill parking.
When parking on any type of slope, always turn the wheels so that the car will not roll into the street if the brakes fail.
According to the Florida Driver's Handbook, the following parking actions CAN BE CONSIDERED ILLEGAL:
On the roadway side of any vehicle stopped or parked at the edge or curb of a street (double parking)
On a crosswalk
On a sidewalk
In front of a driveway
By yellow curbs painted or where NO PARKING signs are posted
In an intersection
Within 15 ft of a fire hydrant
According to the Florida Driver's Handbook, the following parking actions can ALSO be considered illegal.
Within 20 ft of an intersection.
Within 20 ft of the entrance to a fire, ambulance or rescue squad station.
Within 50 ft of a railroad crossing.
On the hard surface of a highway where parking spaces are not marked.
On any bridge, overpass, or in any tunnel.
Within 30 ft of a rural mail box on a state highway between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m.
Within 30 ft of any flashing signal, stop sign or traffic signal.
In such a way that you block or create a hazard for other vehicles.
You must use your parking lights at night if you are on a roadway or shoulder outside of cities or towns.
However, driving with only these lights on (without headlights) is NOT LEGAL.
There are special rules regarding parking for disabled persons.
Vehicles used by disabled people are exempt from parking fees when parked on a public street, highway, or meter. These vehicles are required to display a valid disabled person placard (with the international symbol of accessibility) that is visible from the front and the back.
Placards must be obtained from a tag agent or tax collector and must be renewed every four years.
Disabled persons should park in reserved disabled person spaces marked by the wheelchair symbol and signs. Vehicles parked in these spaces illegally will be ticketed and may be towed.
Headlights must be used between sunset and sunrise or if driving in rain, smoke, or fog.
High-beam headlights must not be used if driving towards vehicles within 500 ft or if you are driving behind vehicles within 300 ft. High-beam headlights are best used at speeds of 25 mph or above. They can reveal objects up to 450 ft away.
If a vehicle is approaching you using high-beams,
signal by flashing your vehicle's high-beams before switching back to low-beams.
Do not look directly at headlights on oncoming vehicles. Rather, follow the right edge of your lane and check back to observe the other vehicle's position every few seconds.
If you only detect one headlight approaching you from the other direction, stay to the far right of your lane.
Low-beam headlights are for use up to 25 mph.
When driving faster than these speeds, it will be more difficult to detect hazards, pedestrians, cyclists, and others. Driving with parking lights rather than headlights is ILLEGAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
here are certain conditions where you should turn on your low-beam headlights:
Any time between sunset and sunrise. This includes the evening and the time before sunrise.
Any time of rain, smoke, or fog.
are also called freeways, turnpikes, multi-lane roadways, or interstate highways. These roadways have no stop signs, traffic signals, or railroad crossings. Rather, they offer the fastest way to get from point A to point B.
Before Entering an Expressway
Before you enter the expressway, search the guide signs for the route number and direction or destination.
If you try to enter what you THINK is an entrance ramp, and see red and white signs marked DO NOT ENTER or WRONG WAY, immediately pull over to the edge, turn around, and leave the ramp.
Expressway entrances include three areas:
the entrance ramp, the acceleration lane, and the merge area. The entrance ramp allows the driver time to search traffic for flow and traffic gaps and evaluate speed and space requirements before entering. These ramps may be uphill, downhill, or level with the expressway. Each presents a different challenge when trying to search the traffic flow on the expressway.
This "on-ramp" lane delivers the driver to the acceleration lane and gives the driver time to evaluate highway traffic conditions. You should search ahead for traffic on the ramp as well as for a gap in traffic on the expressway.
This is the area to get the speed up to or near the speed of traffic on the expressway. The amount of acceleration depends on traffic flow on the expressway.
This is the area immediately following the acceleration lane generally distinguished by a broken white line which indicates that traffic may flow from this lane and move onto the expressway. Always attempt to merge at the same speed of the traffic. To enter the traffic flow, merge into the correct lane position; turn off the signal and maintain new target area and cushion of space.
Problems When Entering an Expressway:
GENERAL PROBLEMS ASSOCIATED WITH EXPRESSWAY ENTRANCES include heavy traffic, short ramps and acceleration lanes. Also, traffic ahead on the ramp may slow or stop abruptly.
Reducing Risk When Entering an Expressway
There are several ways to reduce your risks while entering an expressway.
how to Reducing risk on the entrance ramp:
Search for the proper entrance
Search ahead and behind you, and traffic on the expressway
Prepare to adjust speed for a blocked ramp
Avoid stopping on ramp
Reducing risk in the acceleration lane:
Search ahead for a gap on the expressway
Prepare to adjust speed
Pull ahead onto the shoulder if no merge area is available
Reducing risk in merging areas:
Search ahead and to the side
Prepare to blend speed with traffic
Watch for traffic changing lanes at merge points
Look ahead for signs telling you about the exit you want and the lane you need to use.
Check in front, behind, and to the side for traffic. Signal and move into the proper lane before the exit.
If a yellow panel with the message EXIT ONLY is on an expressway sign
the lane below the sign will not continue through the interchange. Instead, the lane will go off the road to form a ramp. If you are in a lane posted with an EXIT ONLY sign but do not wish to leave, change lanes or you will be forced to exit.
If you miss the exit ramp
ever turn around or back up. Go to the next exit; get back on the expressway in the opposite direction and return to the exit you want.
Exiting has two components:
The deceleration lane & the exiting ramp
an area where speed can be reduced to exit safely and yield to other drivers. It may be marked with a dashed line on the right, and may be shared with cars entering and exiting the expressway.
the off-ramp may be level or sharply curved, uphill or downhill. Be sure to adjust speed for the ramp speed limit depending on the sharpness of the curve.
Most expressway exits have a special lane for you to use before you reach the exit ramp
AVOID slowing down on the expressway itself. Wait until you are in the deceleration lane. Then slow gradually until your speed matches the posted exit ramp speed.
Some special situations include:
The common-use "weave" lane can provide both an entrance and an exit for an expressway. Drivers entering the "acceleration" ("weave") lane from the entrance ramp shall yield the right-of-way to exiting traffic.
Short deceleration lane—some deceleration lanes may be shorter than others, requiring you to slow more quickly in these situations. Be sure to check your rear zone for traffic.
incorrect answers on test and their correct answers
3. If you become employed in Florida and you own a vehicle, you must register the vehicle with the DHSMV within _____________ days.
If you own a vehicle in the state of Florida and are employed within the state, or if you enroll children in public schools, you must register the vehicle and obtain a license plate. This process must happen within 10 days of employment or enrollment.
5. This driver is signaling his or her intention to ________.
A. turn left
B. turn right
C. slow down
Signal to other drivers when you plan to turn left or right, slow down, or stop. Signals may be given by hand-and-arm positions or by signal lights on the vehicle. LEFT TURN: Left arm extended straight out with hand extended. RIGHT TURN: Left arm extended upright with hand extended. SLOW or STOP: Left hand extended downward with palm facing backward.
9. If the road surface or visibility is compromised in any way, such as by traffic congestion or bad weather, you must ____________.
A. drive at the posted speed limit
B. adjust your speed
C. use cruise control
D. stop and wait until the weather improves
If the road surface or visibility is compromised in any way, such as by traffic congestion or bad weather, you must adjust your speed. CORRECT ANSWERS:A. A. D.
4. The goals of the Safety Office of the Department of Transportation include______.
A. keeping records for cars
B. assistance in emergencies
C. administering the distribution of license plates
D. all of the above
The branch of the Safety Office attempts to ensure the safety of Florida highway system users and also assists in emergencies. Other goals of the Safety Office include the development of safety programs using engineering, education, emergency services, and law enforcement that reduce hazards and collisions for drivers, pedestrians, and other road users. This includes the Community Traffic Safety Teams (CTST) and the Highway Safety Grant Program.
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE...
Texas | Drivers Test Study Guide
Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws (2017)
State Exam Review Questions
OTHER SETS BY THIS CREATOR
Vocab list 3
DRIVER'ED MODULE TEN Sharing the road with otherso
MODULE NEUF Critical Vehicle systems
MODULE HUIT Substance Abuse
THIS SET IS OFTEN IN FOLDERS WITH...
Exam: 11.02 Final Exam
Critical vehicle systems
Drivers Ed Test Q's
Module 8 Substance Abuse