7 terms

Life Cycles (Pkt.5 List 1)

Complete Metamorphosis
The type of metamorphosis with 4 stages: egg, larva, pupa, and adult
Direct Development
When an organism only changes its size and sometimes color from birth to adult; no metamorphosis occurs (Stages: embryo/birth/hatching, growth, adult)
Incomplete Metamorphosis
The type of metamorphosis with 3 stages: egg, nymph, adult
The change in the shape and form some organisms go through during their life cycles
Inherited Trait
Features (both structural and behavioral that are passed from parent to offspring through genes; EX: eye color, knowing how to breathe, height
A behavioral trait that is inherited from parent to offspring; instincts are not taught; EX: pulling hand away from a hot object
Learned Behavior
Actions that are learned as an organism interacts with the environment; EX: walking, talking, hunting

Flickr Creative Commons Images

Some images used in this set are licensed under the Creative Commons through Flickr.com.
Click to see the original works with their full license.