International Time and Temperature PRACTICE

STUDY
PLAY

Terms in this set (...)

When it is 11:30 a.m. in Dublin, it is 2:30 p.m. in Moscow. How far ahead of Dublin is Moscow?
3 hours
Place the following temperatures in order from coldest to hottest: -8°C, 10°C, -5°F, 40°F
-5°F, -8°C, 40°F, 10°C
Clara, while vacationing in Italy, decided to go swimming. When she asked at what temperature the pool was kept, she was told that it had a constant temperature of 35.8°C. What temperature is the pool in °F, to the nearest tenth?
96.4°F
On the Fahrenheit scale, at what temperature does water boil?
212 F
When it is 4:00 a.m. in Halifax, it is 1:00 p.m. in Karachi, and when it is 9:00 a.m. in Karachi, it is 5:00 a.m. in Warsaw. Mary left Halifax to fly to Karachi, but she accidentally left her watch on Warsaw time. According to Mary's watch, she left Halifax at 9:40 p.m. on Monday. The local time when she arrived at Karachi was 3:00 p.m. Tuesday. How long was Mary's flight?
13 hours, 20 minutes
Kurt is staying in Portugal and is trying to make a roast. His cookbook tells him to preheat his oven to 475°F, but the oven is only marked in °C. Where should Kurt set the oven, to the nearest tenth?
246.1°C
When it is 4:00 a.m. in London, it is 11:00 a.m. in Hanoi. If you leave Hanoi at 7:45 a.m. on Friday and fly to London over the course of 9 hours and 45 minutes, what time will it be in London when you land?
10:30 a.m. Friday
Of the following approximate conversions of Fahrenheit into Celsius, which is most accurate?
78°F = 25.3°C
Mike understands the formula for temperature conversion, but is having difficulty imagining what various temperatures feel like. Which of these would be a good example to tell Mike what 37°C feels like?
Body temperature
You take a train away from Bangkok at 1:50 a.m. on Wednesday. You ride the train for 16 hours and 40 minutes, at which point you arrive in Vladivostok at 9:30 p.m. on Wednesday, local time. How does Vladivostok's time zone relate to Bangkok's time zone?
Vladivostok is three hours ahead of Bangkok.