10 terms

Three levels of government


Terms in this set (...)

Three arms of the federal and state government
Legislature, the executive, and the juduciary.
The Australian Constitution established a federal system of government where powers are shared between the federal government and the state and territory governments.
S 51 of the Australian constitution
Defines the law making powers of the federal government.
Australian Constitution
Defines how the Commonwealth government was to operate and what issues it could pass laws on.
Legislature ( parliament)
Is responsible for debating and voting on new laws to be introduced under the power of section 51.
Executive goernment
Is responsible for enacting and upholding the laws established by the legislature
Judiciary (Courts)
Is the legal arm of the federal government. It is independent of the other two arms, and is responsible for enforcing the laws and deciding whether the other two arms are acting within their powers.
State governments
Have their own constitutions, as well as a structure of legislature, executive and judiciary.
Powers of state governemnts
Retain the power to make their own laws over matters not controlled by the Commonwealth under Section 51 of the Constitution.
Local government
Also called councils. Power to make by-laws has been delegated from State parliaments.