14 terms

Erikson's Psychosocial Stages Summary Chart and James Fowler Stages of Faith Development

Trust vs. Mistrust
Early Childhood
Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt
Initiative vs. Guilt
School Age
Industry vs. Inferiority
Identity vs. Role Confusion
Young Adulthood
Intimacy vs. Isolation
Middle Adulthood
Generativity vs. Stagnation
Ego Integrity vs. Despair
Stage 1
Intuitive-Projective Imaginative faith; God as "all over the place in one day"
Stage 2
Mythical-Literal Imaginative faith gives way to concrete, anthropomorphic thinking,
God is the boss must mean that he sits at a big desk in the sky!
Stage 3
Synthetic-Conventional Tendency to value what our peers value; possible beginning of a
movement away from the values of our parents
Stage 4
Individuative-Reflective We "leave home" psychologically and/or physically; going away
to college for example and encountering new people and ideas. Truly making our values our own.
Stage 5
Conjunctive Our sense of justice expands and we see more of the world as our own. We
are aware of what needs to be done on behalf of others.
Stage 6
Universalizing The person becomes totally altruistic and acts on behalf of others. This
stage is rarely achieved. Martin Luther King, Mother Theresa.