15 terms

The Cabinet

Department of the Interior
Manages and protects the nation's public lands.
State Department
Plans the nations foreign policy
Department of Energy
The federal department responsible for maintaining a national energy policy of the United States
Department of Health and Human Services
Department that administers federal programs dealing with public health, welfare, and income security.
Department of Education
Manages federal education programs, oversees educational grants to the states.
Department of Transportation
promotes and regulates highways, mass transit, railroads, waterways, air travel, and oil and gas pipelines
Department of the Treasury
Collects, borrows, spends, and prints money; collects taxes
Department of Defense
The department responsible for military policies and maintaining American military forces to defend the country
Department of Homeland Security
Cabinet-level agency created in 2003 to unify and coordinate public safety and anti-terrorism operations within the federal government.
Department of Housing and Urban Development
The United States federal department that administers federal programs dealing with better housing and urban renewal
Department of Justice
Provides legal advice to the president, enforces federal laws, represents the US in court, operates federal prisons
Department of Agriculture
Responsible for developing and executing U.S federal government policy on farming, agriculture, and food.
Department of Veteran Affairs
Manages educational training, pension, and medical benefits programs for veterans
Department of Commerce
The cabinet department that deals with business, trade and commerce. Its objective is to foment higher standards of living for Americans through the creation of jobs.
Department of Labor
Aids wage earners, enforces labor standards and laws, runs employment bureaus, mediates strikes, and suggests new legislation regarding worker safety