15 terms

Amendments & Branches of Government

The Bill of Rights
Attached to end of constitution formed 10 amendments
Amendment 1
Freedom of speech, religion, press, assembly, and petition
Amendment 2
Right to bear arms
Amendment 3
No citizen may be forced to house soldiers
Amendment 4
Protection from unreasonable search and seizure
Amendment 5
Right to due process of law
Amendment 6
Right to a trial by jury for criminals
Amendment 7
Right to a trial by jury for civil affairs
Amendment 8
Freedom from cruel and unusual punishment
Amendment 9
Protection of other rights not listed in the Bill of Rights
Amendment 10
Power of the states
Separation of Powers
Power shared by the three branches
Checks and Balances
At the same time, powers of one branch can be challenged by another branch
-Congress -makes laws -two parts, Senate, House of Representatives -435 House of Representatives -100 Senators
Executive Branch
-President head -Vice President -Both can only serve terms of four years each -Enforcing the laws