Upgrade to remove ads
Driver's Ed Flashcards
California Version Credits to this site: http://www.proprofs.com/flashcards/tableview.php?title=Drivers-Ed-3
Terms in this set (62)
If you obtain or purchase a vehicle from a private party, you must transfer the ownership within __ days.
When you sell or transfer a vehicle, report it to DMV within _ days
Vehicles registered from another state must be registered in California within __ days after you become a resident or get a job.
When you make you home or take a job in california, you must apply for a driver license within __ days
visitors between 16 and 18 years old may drive with their home state license or permit for only __ days in California
A person must be __ years old to drive most commercial vehicles in interstate commerce and to transport hazardous materials.
21 Years Old
To replace a lost or damaged drivers license, you must go to a DMV office and?
Pay a fee of $21
When you move, you must give dmv your new address within __ Days
DMV issues a regular Drivers License for _ years
Basic Class _ license is the license with any 2-axle vehicle and what almost every permit test is based on for a first time driver.
You must be between ages __1/2 and __ to get a permit.
15 1/2 and 18
During the first __ months after you are licensed, you cannot drive between __pm and _am and you cannot transport passengers under age __.
12 Months. 11pm and 5am Age 20
Is there an upper age limit for a driver's license?
What is the proper way to change a lane?
Look in your review and side mirrors, look over your shoulder, and signal to pass over.
Always stop for any ________ crossing at corners or other crosswalks and at corners with or without traffic lights.
Pedestrains always have the R____ O_ W__ in crosswalks.
Right Of Way
An _________ is any place where one line of traffic meets another
A __________ is an intersection where traffic travels around in a counterclockwise direction
the vehicle facing D_______ must yield the right-of-way by backing up until the vehicle going uphill can pass. Why?
Downhill. Because the vehicle facing downhill has the greater amount of control when backing.
A solid red arrow means?
STOP, Remain stopped until the green signal appears. do not go against a red arrow.
A flashing red light means?
STOP. Treat as a stop sign.
A flashing yellow light means?
Warns you to be careful. You must slow down.
What does a red and white triangle sign mean?
to give the right of way to traffic on the road you are entering or crossing.
What is the "California basic speed law"?
You may never drive faster than is safe for current conditions.
When merging onto a freeway you should be a_ or n____ the same speed as the f______ t____.
At or near. Freeway traffic.
The speed limit by school is __ mph.
The speed limit for a blind intersection is __ mph.
The speed limit in any alley is __ mph.
The speed limit near railroad tracks is __ mph.
The speed limit near streetcars, trolleys and buses is no more than __ mph.
The speed limit near businesses and residence areas is __ mph.
____ yellow lines mark the center of a road used for two-way traffic.
Solid yellow lines.
____ yellow lines mean you can pass if the ____ line is next to your driving lane.
Two ____ yellow lines mean no passing.
In the far right lane of a four-lane freeway, there are thick broken white lines on the left side of the lane. This is the e___ l___.
you may drive in a bike lane for ___ feet when making a turn.
When you change lanes or merge into another lane, you need a _ second gap in traffic.
Are you allowed to park in a bike lane?
Yes, unless posted otherwise.
Pavement marked with a diamond symbol is the c__p___ l___.
Signal for ___ feet before a turn.
When parking on a level street, your wheels must be within __ inches of the curb.
Signal for at least _ seconds before switching lanes on a freeway.
A load extending 4 feet from the back of a car must have a red/orange f___ or 2 red l___ on the back.
You must drive with your headlights on __ minutes after sunset and __ minutes before sunrise.
Always look __ to __ seconds ahead of your car.
10 to 15 seconds.
Check your review mirror every _ to _ seconds.
2 to 5 seconds.
When driving in fog, use your l__ b___ l___.
Low beam lights.
In a heavy rain/snow storm, you should never drive faster than __ mph.
Place emergancy flares ___ to ___ feet behind the car.
200 to 300.
A truck potentially has larger b___ s____ than other vehicles.
At highway speeds of 50 to 55 mph, you need a __ to __ second gap in oncoming traffic to pass safely.
10 to 12.
What is the "NO ZONE"
Trucker's blind spots. (REMEMBER: if you cannot see the driver in his side mirror, he cannot see you)
When hydroplaning, do you apply the brakes?
NEVER! You slow down gradually be easing off the gas.
If involved in an accident, you must make a written report to your insurance agent within __ days.
If you were in an accident that had more than $750 of damage or if anyone was injured, you must notify the DMV within __ days.
If caught with alcohol in your vehicle, you car can be impounded for __ days.
The BAC limit for anyone under 21 is .__% .
The BAC limit for anyone over 21 is .__%
The BAC limit for a commercial driver is .__%
If you are convicted of driving with excessive BAC, you may be sentanced up to _ months in jail and to p__ _ f___.
6 Months. Pay a fine.
You are allowed to have _ traffic points in 12 months, 6 points in __ months, and 8 points in __ months
4 points. 24 months. 36 months.
Hit and run driving and driving while suspended are examples of _ point violations.
This set is often in folders with...
Driver's Ed Study Guide
California Permit Test (Driver's Ed)
Drivers Ed - Chapter 4
Drivers Ed: Different Road Signs
You might also like...
Driving test numbers
Idaho Driving Test
Driver's Training Manual
Other Quizlet sets
PHP Practice Section 1 -2
microbio lab test 3
prime times midterm
NASM CPT Exam Review