10 terms

Principles of the Constitution

Checks and Balances
System in which each branch of government can limit the power of the other two branches. For example, the Senate has the power to approve or reject presidential appointments to the Supreme Court.
Separation of Powers
3 Branches of Government
The principle of dividing governmental powers among different branches of government to protect against tyranny (legislative, executive, judicial)
Popular Sovereignty
The people rule!
The idea that political power belongs to the people
People elect their political representatives.
Individual Rights
Basic liberties and rights of citizens (includes freedom of speech, religion, right to a fair trial, etc.)
Power is divided between national and state governments
Limited Government
The Constitution restricts the power of government; the government has to follow the law just like everyday citizens
legislative branch
Branch of government that makes the laws; includes Senate and House of Representatives
Executive branch
Branch of government that includes the president and his cabinet; enforces the nation's laws
Judicial Branch
Branch of government that decides if laws are carried out fairly and if they are constitutional; consists of the Supreme Court judges

Flickr Creative Commons Images

Some images used in this set are licensed under the Creative Commons through Flickr.com.
Click to see the original works with their full license.