31 terms


Church -
the body of Christ that is the community of God's people who profess faith in the risen Lord Jesus and love and serve others under the guidance of the Holy Spirit. The Roman Catholic Church is guided by the pope and his bishops.
To bring the good news of Jesus Christ to others.
Mystery -
A reality filled with God's invisible presence. This term applies to the Blessed Jesus Christ A reality filled with God's invisible presence. This term applies to the Blessed Jesus Christ the Church which his body, and the sacraments.
Sacrament -
An outward sign of an invisible grace. An "efficacious" symbol that brings about the spiritual reality to which it points. This term applies to Christ Jesus .The great sign of God's love for us; to the church his our world; and to the seven sacraments.
Laity -
All the members of the church who have been initiated into the Church though Baptism and who are not ordained or in consecrated life. The laity participates in Jesus' prophetic priestly, and kindly ministry.
Liturgy -
The official public worship of the Church. The sacraments and Divine Office constitute the Church's liturgy .The Mass is the most important liturgical celebration.
Hierarchy -
The official sacred leadership in the Church made up of the Church's ordained ministers-bishops priests, and deacons. The symbol of unity and authority in the Church is the pope, the bishop of Rome, who is the successor of St. Peter.
Evangelical Counsels
Vow of personal poverty chastity, understood as lifelong celibacy, and obedience to the demands to the community being joined which are professed by those entering the consecrated life.
Infallibility -
A gift of the Spirit whereby the pope and bishops are preserved from error when proclaiming a doctrine related to Christian faith or morals.
Canon Law -.
The official body of rules (canons) that provides for good order in the Catholic Church
Marks of the Church -
Four essential signs or characteristics of Christ's Church that mark it as his true Church. The church is one holy, catholic, and apostolic.
Catholic -
From a Greek word meaning "universal" or "general". The Catholic Church is the Christian Community that is one holy, apostolic and catholic, - that is, opens to all people everywhere at all times- and preaches the fullness of God's revelation in Jesus Christ.
Apostle -
"one sent" to be Christ's ambassador to continue his work. In its widest openness, the term refers to all of Christ's disciples whose mission is to preach his gospel in word and deed.
Ecumenism -
The movement inspired and led by the Holy Spirit that seeks the union of all Christian's religions and eventually the unity of all peoples throughout the world.
Protestants -
A baptized Christian who believes join Chris t but j9who does not accept all the teachings of the Catholic Church. Protestant communities first came into existence during the Reformation in the sixteenth century.
Great Schism -
A major break between the churches of the west and the East. The Roman Church had added the expression "and the Son" to the article of the Nicene Creed referring to the Holy Spirit without seeking approval from a Church wide counsel of bishops.
Heaven -.
A perfect life of supreme happiness with God and the communion of saints for all eternity
Communion of Saints -
The unity in Christ of those entire he has redeemed - the Church on earth in heaven and in purgatory.
Eschatology -
A study of and teaching about the "last things".
Purgatory - .
the state of purification that takes place after death for those who need to be made clean and holy before meeting the all-holy God in Heaven
Immaculate Conception -
The Church dogma that holds the Blessed mother by a special grace from God and by virtue of her son's merits. Was preserved immune from all stain of original sin from the very first moment of her human existence. This feast is celebrated on December 8, a holy day of obligation.
Assumption -
The Church dogma that teaches that the Blessed Mother because of her unique role in her Son's Resurrection, was taken directly to heaven when her earthly life was over. The feast of the Assumption on August 15 is a Holy day of obligation.
Sin -
an offense against God through a violation of truth reason, and conscience.
Venial Sin -
Actual sin that weakens and wounds our relationship with God` but does not destroy divine life in our souls.
Bad habits or dispositions that turn us from the good and incline us to commit evil
Capitol sins -
sins that are the root of other sins and vices. There are seven capitol sins: pride covetousness, envy, anger, gluttony, lust, and sloth.
Mortal sin -
A serious violation of God's law of love that results in the loss of god's life in the soul of the sinner. To commit mortal sin there must be grave matter full knowledge of the evil done and full consent of the will.
Hell -
Eternal separation from God that results from a person dying after freely and deliberately against God's will.
Resurrection of the body -
The Christian belief that when Christ comes again he will reunite the bodies of every human with their souls.
Beatific vision -
seeing God "face-to-face" in Heaven the source of our eternal happiness; final union with the Triune God for all eternity.
Particular judgement -
the individuals judgement immediately after death when Christ will rule on one's eternal destiny to be spent in heaven or in hell.