10 terms

7 Principles of Government Terms


Terms in this set (...)

This is system of government in which power is divided between a central government and smaller political units such as states
limited government
This is closely related to the "rule of law." In the American government everyone, citizens and powerful leaders alike, must obey the law
individual rights
The Bill of Rights guarantees certain individual rights, or personal liberties and privileges
popular sovereignty
The power for our government come from the people (Citizens) through the democratic process (elections)
The people exercise their power by voting for their political representatives
checks & balances
Each branch of the government can exercise checks, or controls, over the other branches. Though each branch is separate, they rely on one another to perform the work of government
separation of powers
The division of power between the three branches of government - Legislative:Makes Laws Executive: Enforces Laws Judicial:Reviews Laws
Executive Branch
this branch of government "enforces" or "carries out" the law. Departments in this branch include the President and his cabinet, the military and FBI, etc...
Legislative Branch
this branch of government "makes the law" or they change laws. Included in this branch are the House of Representatives, Congress and Senators.
Judicial Branch
this branch of government "interprets the law". They are the courts, judges and Supreme Court and they decided if someone or group has broken a law or not.

Flickr Creative Commons Images

Some images used in this set are licensed under the Creative Commons through Flickr.com.
Click to see the original works with their full license.