24 terms

5 Basic Principles of the US Constitution


Terms in this set (...)

What are the five basic principles of the US Constitution?
1- Popular sovereignty
2- Limited government
3- Separation of powers
4- Checks and balances
5- Federalism
Popular sovereignty
all political power resides with the people; people rule; the consent of the governed
"We the people..."
Example of popular sovereignty
Mayflower Compact
Limited government
Government must obey the law no government is all-powerful and may only do that which the people give it the power to do.
"Congress shall make no law...." -1st amendment
Example of limited government
Magna Carta
Separation of Powers
powers are distributed nationally to Congress, the President, and Supreme Court
Articles 1-3 Powers of the branches
Legislative Branch
power to make laws
Legislative branch consists of...
Congress= Senate + House of Representatives
100, 2 per state
-Debbie Stabenow (D)
-Gary Peters (D)
House of Representatives
435 - based on population
-Rober Victory (Dist.#88)
Executive Branch
power to enforce laws
-President: Donald Trump (R)
- Vice President: Mike Pence (R)
Judicial Branch
power to interpret laws/Constitution
-Supreme Court: John Roberts, Chief Justice
Checks and Balances
Each branch of government is checked or restrained by the other two branches.
Examples of checks and balances...
-The President can veto a law passed by Congress
-Congress can override that veto
-Congress can refuse the appointment of federal judges
-Supreme Court can find a law unconstitutional
division of power among National and State governments.
Federal (national) Gov't Power
-coins money
-declares war
State Gov't Powers
-establishes schools
-conduct elections
Both federal and state powers
-collect taxes
-define crimes/punishments
Reserved Powers
State powers
Delegated powers
Federal/national powers
Concurrent powers
Both state and federal
given to national government because it is a sovereign state (ex: regulate immigration)
Written in the Constitution (Congress may declare war)
given to national gov't but not written in Constitution: (printing paper money)