27 terms

Amendments to the Constitution

Amendment 1
Freedom of Speech, Freedom of Religion, Freedom of the Press, Freedom of Assembly, Freedom to Petition the Government.
Amendment 2
Right to keep and bear arms
Amendment 3
limit on quartering of troops
Amendment 4
Protection from illegal searches & seizures
Amendment 5
rights of accused, self incrimination, double jeopardy, due process of law, private property for public use
Amendment 6
Criminal procedures, speedy trial, confront witnesses, have an attorney
Amendment 7
Jury Trial in civil Cases
Amendment 8
Excessive fines and unusual punishments are forbidden
Amendment 9
The people retain rights not enumerated here, Powers Reserved to the People. People's rights are not limited to those in the Constitution.
Amendment 10
Powers not delegated to the federal government are reserved to the states and the people
Amendment 11
Exemption of states from federal suits by citizens of another state (1789)
Amendment 12
Changes in manner of electing president and vice president; procedure when no presidential candidate receives electoral majority (1804)
Amendment 13
prohibition of slavery (1865)
Amendment 14
guarantee of due process and equal protection of all citizens (1868)
Amendment 15
protecting of voting rights (1870)
Amendment 16
National income tax created.(1913)
Amendment 17
Senators no longer appointed by state legislatures. Now to be directly elected by citizens.(1913)
Amendment 18
Prohibition of alcohol (1919) (Repealed by 21st amendment in 1933))
Amendment 19
women's suffrage (1920)
Amendment 20
change of dates for start of presidential, congressional terms (1933)
Amendment 21
repealed prohibition and voided the 18th amendment (1933)
Amendment 22
Two term limit set for presidents.(1951)
Amendment 23
grants the District of Columbia (Washington D.C.) the right to three electors in Presidential elections. (1951)
Amendment 24
Poll taxed outlawed. (1964)
Amendment 25
Presidential succession more clearly defined.(1967)
Amendment 26
gives citizens 18 or older the right to vote (1971)
Amendment 27
no pay increase for members of Congress during current term of office. (1992)