44 terms



Terms in this set (...)

A slight majority of Jains now lives outside of India.
Mahavira was a contemporary or near-contemporary of Gautama the Buddha.
Mahavira is the latest in the line of previous tirthankaras, and most Jains believe that he will be the last.
According to the Shvetembara sect the nineteenth tirthankara, Malli, was a woman.
Jains believe that human nature is depraved to the point of needing assistance from the tirthankaras, and therefore they continue to appear in the world.
The monks of the Digambara sect do not even possess clothing.
The Digambara sect is Jain's largest and is most prevalent in northern India.
The three upper spokes of the wheel that represents the cycle of time are considered to be a golden age of goodness and prosperity.
The most fortunate rebirth is considered by Jains to be a deity in one of the brightest heavens.
Jains consider the jiva of an insect to be of identical quality to that of a large animal or human being.
Immoral actions, those that violate the principle of ahimsa and other Jain ethical teachings, bring about small quantities of light matter that neither cling to the soul nor weigh it down.
Digambara Jains accept the possibility of women attaining kevala.
An individual's mindset at the moment of death is considered to be a significant factor for the prospects of rebirth.
Fasting is a quite common practice among Jain laity, especially women.
Through having conquered the realm of __________, the "cycle" of moving from one birth to another, the tirthankara has successfully crossed into the realm of the liberated.
All tirthankaras are believed to have attained the state of __________, or omniscience.
Jains believe that __________ tirthankaras have appeared in this current world cycle.
The ascetic practices of Mahavira illustrate the Jain principle of __________, which functions as the religion's basic ethical norm.
nonviolence, or ahisma
The three interrelated Jain concepts that are abbreviated as "AAA" are nonviolence (ahimsa), non-absolutism (anekantavada), and __________ (aparigraha).
Below the Middle Realm of the loka is a series of progressively darker __________.
The Jain categories of existence can most simply be divided into two: jiva (the living) and __________ (the nonliving).
Right faith (darshana), right knowledge (jnana), and right practice (caritra) are known as the __________ of Jainism.
Three Jewels
A sizeable majority of Jains belong to the __________ sect.
In its most visible form, Jain worship concentrates on __________ of the tirthankaras, although the Sthanakvasis and Terapanthis shun this.
All Jains are careful with regard to their eating habits. They are diligently __________.
Historians tend to agree with the traditional Jain perspective that Mahavira followed an already established form of Jainism—possibly that of __________, the twenty-third tirthankara.
One Muslim ruler who developed particularly close relations with Jains and who issued several decrees promoting the protection of animals was __________ the Great.
Today the number of Jains in the world is about
5 million
Each of the Jain founding figures is considered to be a jina, or
Although there is no record of Mahavira and the Buddha having met,
Their legendary biographies are strikingly similar.
The last tirthankara to have lived prior to Mahavira was
Mahavira preached for some thirty years until, at the age of 72,
he died in the town of Pava, located in the northern Indian state of Bihar.
Which of the following is not among the twenty-four tirthankaras of the current world cycle?
Jains consider the tirthankaras to be
Human beings
The Shvetambara sect officially rejects the Digambara texts and follows instead
Eleven books of Anga and thirty-four books of Angabahya.
For Jainism, karma is
the moral law of cause and effect that determines prospects for a good rebirth.
According to Jain cosmology, the loka is correctly described as each of the following except:
Will end when all human beings attain kevala.
Jainism holds that the universe has
An infinite number of jivas, or souls.
Which of the following is not categorized with human beings as life forms having five senses?
The destiny of an individual's soul is determined
As soon as the person dies
According to Digambara doctrine,
All of the above.
Sallekhana is
The intentional fasting of oneself to death.
Jains worship the tirthankaras to
Burn off the dirtying karma that weighs down the soul.
Among the impressive examples of Jain art and architecture are each of the following except for
The Darbar Sahib at Amritsar.