Upgrade to remove ads
Driver's Ed - Texas
You're either excited or scared to death at this very moment - you're about to take your permit test! Here's some helpful study questions. Answers are according to Texas Driver's Ed practice test.
Terms in this set (75)
What do you do in case of a blow-out?
Steer firmly, take your foot off the gas and brake cautiously.
A flashing red traffic light means:
Stop, look and yield before proceeding.
At 20 miles per hour, the reaction distance is:
The maximum fine for a person age 21 or older who is driving and drinking alcohol is:
When turning left from a three lane, one way street, you should turn from the:
A solid yellow line on your side of the center stripe means:
Do Not Pass
When parking near a corner, you may park your vehicle no closer than:
20 feet from a crosswalk
If you are being passed, you should:
Keep in your lane
You must always stop when:
A traffic officer tells you to.
When you hear a siren coming, you should:
Yield to the emergency vehicle.
If you are teaching a beginner to drive, you must:
Be a licensed driver age 21 years or older.
You must give a signal either by hand and arm or by signal device:
Anytime you change lanes.
If a child ran into the road 60-65 feet ahead of your vehicle, what is the highest speed from which you could stop before hitting him?
The headlights must be turned on:
30 minutes after sunset.
A vehicle should never be parked closer to a fire plug than:
A flashing yellow signal light means:
Always slow down.
When you are taking medicine prescribed for you by a doctor you should:
Ask your doctor if it is safe to drive.
You may lawfully allow an object to extend beyond the left side of your vehicle:
Vehicle skids are most likely to be caused by:
Driving too fast on slippery roads.
If you are involved in an injury accident in the city, you must notify:
The local police.
The maximum daytime speed limit for passenger cars on a numbered highway is:
At night, a driver should dim his headlights when an oncoming car comes within:
Child passenger safety seats are required for all children under the age of:
5 years old; or under 36 inches (no matter what age)
When making a long trip you should stop for a rest:
Every 2 hours or 100 miles
A posted speed limit of 55 mph means:
You may drive 55 mph only under favorable conditions.
If you run off the pavement you should:
Steer straight ahead, slow down and gradually return to the pavement.
Your driver's license will automatically be suspended for:
Possessing a fake driver's license.
Alcohol affects a driver by:
Slowing down reaction, impairing perception, interfering with concentration, dulling judgement, and causing unstable emotions.
If a driver (age 21 or older) runs over and kills someone while under the influence of alcohol, the driver may be charged with:
When a vehicle in front of you stops to let a pedestrian pass in front of it, you should:
Stay in line and wait until the vehicle ahead proceeds.
If your driver's license is suspended you may drive only:
If you get an essential needs license.
Why should you drive slower at night?
The distance you can see ahead is less.
Even if you are not intoxicated and you are under the age of 21, if you have any detectable amount of alcohol in your system while operating a motor vehicle, you may be charged with:
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a minor (DUIA)
When approaching a green traffic light, you should:
Look both ways as you go ahead carefully.
The lights on your vehicle must be turned on any time day or night when persons and vehicles cannot clearly be seen for:
The maximum fine for a first conviction of driving without a valid driver's license is:
When parking parallel it is best to leave the curb side wheels:
6-18 inches from the curb
Not including thinking and reaction distance, at 20 miles per hour, lawful brakes must stop a car within:
A green arrow showing with a red traffic light means:
You may go ahead carefully in the direction of the arrow.
Drivers become subject to the liability insurance law when accident damages reach:
$1000 to property of one person
When possible, pedestrians should walk:
On a sidewalk.
It is a violation of state law for pedestrians to:
Stand in the road for purpose of soliciting a ride.
When meeting a school bus which has stopped to load or unload children, you must:
Stop and wait until the bus has started to move or you are signaled by the driver.
When entering a street from a private driveway or alley you must:
Yield to vehicles and pedestrians.
Stopping a vehicle with good brakes from 20 mph under good conditions requires:
63 feet including thinking distance.
If you have an accident in which someone is injured you should:
Carefully help anyone injured and send for skilled help as soon as possible.
A person who has been drinking alcoholic beverages will usually:
Have impaired judgement and coordination.
If you damage an unattended vehicle you must:
Locate the owner or leave a signed note on the vehicle.
On a multiple lane highway, slow drivers should drive:
In the right hand lane.
If you get drowsy it is best to:
Stop, get out and walk around.
When driving behind another vehicle, how much driving time should you maintain between yourself and the car ahead?
Mariquana use will:
Adversely affect your driving.
Your driver's license may be suspended for causing:
One serious accident.
A minor's (if under the age of 17) driver's license may be suspended for a first offence of driving under the influence of alcohol by a minor for:
Up to 12 months
As a driver (age 21 or older), if you refuse a test to determine the amount of alcohol in your body:
Your license may be suspended.
Heavy amphetamine use:
Makes the driver less coordinated and more likely to have a collision.
When turning, you should signal at least:
100 feet before turning.
If a minor (a person under the age of 21 refuses to provide a breath or blood specimen to a police officer, the minor's license will be suspended for:
If you must walk on the highway, you should:
Walk on the left side approaching traffic.
Including reaction time, the stopping distance at 20 mph is:
A person's license will automatically be suspended if convicted of:
Possessing a fake driver's license.
A driver waiting to make a left turn when the light turns green should:
Turn only when there is no danger from oncoming traffic.
If you are driving at the speed limit and another car starts to pass, you should:
Slow down and allow him to pass.
If blinded by an approaching motor vehicle at night, it is best to:
Slow down and avoid looking directly into the lights of the approaching vehicle.
To avoid accidents, a defensive driver should:
Stay alert and look for trouble spots.
When approaching an intersection, bridge or railroad crossing, you should never drive on the left side of the roadway within:
The maximum fine for a first non-driving alcohol-related offense of possession of consumption of alcohol by a minor is:
Your driver's license may be suspended for:
Habitual reckless driving.
After passing another vehicle, it is safe to return to your lane after:
Waiting until you can see the other vehicle in your rearview mirror.
When driving in fog, you can see better by:
Using lower headlight beams.
In a passenger car or truck, who needs to be buckled in?
EVERYONE!!! (Before September 2009, only the driver, front seat passenger, and back seat passengers under 17 need to use seat belts. Now, everyone, no matter what age/seating arrangement, must wear seatbelts)
Under favorable circumstances, including reaction time, a motor vehicle going 50 can be stopped within:
About 229 feet
What is the first thin that should be done when a motor vehicle starts to skid?
Take your foot off the accelerator and steer in the direction of the skid.
When choosing your driving speed, the most important things to consider are:
The weather, traffic, road, car, and driver conditions.
As you near and intersection, you discover you are in the wrong lane to make your turn. You should:
Drive on until you can get into the proper lane, then turn at another intersection and circle back to your intended turn.
THIS SET IS OFTEN IN FOLDERS WITH...
Texas Drivers Handbook Quiz
Drivers Ed Texas 😁
Texas Drivers Ed Flash Cards Set 1
Drivers Education Road Signs
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE...
Driver's Ed - Texas
Drivers Ed Review Texas
Drivers Ed part 2
Texas Department of Public Safety
OTHER SETS BY THIS CREATOR
Graduate Music History Review - Modern
Graduate Music History Review - Romantic
Graduate Music History Review - Classical
Graduate Music History Review - Baroque