Like this study set? Create a free account to save it.

Sign up for an account

Already have a Quizlet account? .

Create an account

Main Function of the Muscular System

- The main function of the muscular system is movement.
- There are three types of muscle tissue: skeletal, cardiac, and smooth.

Skeletal Muscle

- Skeletal muscle is voluntary.
- These muscles are attached to bones and are responsible for their movement.
- Skeletal muscle consists of long fibers and is striated due to the repeating patterns of the myofilaments (made of the protein actin and myosin) that make up the fibers.

Cardiac Muscle

- Cardiac muscle is found in the heart.
- Cardiac muscle is striated like skeletal muscle, but differs in that the plasma membrane of the cardiac muscle causes the muscle to beat even when away from the heart.
- The action potentials of cardiac and skeletal muscles also differ.

Smooth Muscle

- Smooth muscle is involuntary.
- It is found in organs and enables functions such as digestion and respiration.
- Unlike skeletal and cardiac muscle, smooth muscle is not striated.
- Smooth muscle has less myosin and does not generate as much tension as skeletal muscle.

Flickr Creative Commons Images

Some images used in this set are licensed under the Creative Commons through
Click to see the original works with their full license.

Please allow access to your computer’s microphone to use Voice Recording.

Having trouble? Click here for help.

We can’t access your microphone!

Click the icon above to update your browser permissions and try again


Reload the page to try again!


Press Cmd-0 to reset your zoom

Press Ctrl-0 to reset your zoom

It looks like your browser might be zoomed in or out. Your browser needs to be zoomed to a normal size to record audio.

Please upgrade Flash or install Chrome
to use Voice Recording.

For more help, see our troubleshooting page.

Your microphone is muted

For help fixing this issue, see this FAQ.

Star this term

You can study starred terms together

Voice Recording