12 terms


"teaching" contain the books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy
the old testament
evolving teachings and traditional practices that were eventually codified in the great compendium of Jewish law and lore.
the five books of Moses, they appear in the beginning of the Tanakh, as the most scared part of the scriptures.
a modern linguistic term applied to Jews, Arabs, and others of eastern Mediterranean origin whose languages are classified as Semitic; it is often inaccurately used as an ethnic designation.
grandson of Abraham, later called Israel "the one who struggled with god"
holiday that commemorates the story of the lord killing every first born in Egypt, but he passed over the Israelites because of the blood of a lamb over their doors.
The Ten Commandments
1) you shall have no other gods before me. 2) you shall not make for yourself an idol. 3) you shall not make wrongful use of the name of your god. 4) Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy. 5) Honor your father and mother. 6) You shall not kill. 7) You shall not commit adultery. 8) You shall not steal. 9) You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. 10) You shall not covet anything that belongs to your neighbor.
Ark of the Covenant
is described in the Bible as a sacred container, wherein rested the Tablets of stone containing the Ten Commandments.
non Jewish people.
Ten Lost Tribes of Israel
the Israelites that became dispersed within Assyria, people who thenceforth lost a distinct ethnic identity.
greek word for "disperse" when many Jews would not return to Jerusalem from Babylon because Babylon was their home.