Study sets, textbooks, questions
Upgrade to remove ads
Florida learners permit practice questions
practice before the test
Terms in this set (81)
What does a broken white line mean?
you may cross to pass or change lanes if safe to do so.
What does a broken yellow line mean?
Passing is permitted when safe to do so
Expect oncoming traffic in the lane to the left of the line
What does a double solid white line mean
Separates 2 lanes of traffic going in the same direction
What does a double solid yellow line in the center of the highway mean? What does a double solid white line in the center of the highway
Double yellow solid line- traffic in two opposite directions that cannot pass.
White solid lines- traffic going in the same direction that cannot pass
What does a solid yellow line to the right of the center line of the highway mean?
You can use the center lane for left turns only
If you knowingly make a false statement in an application for a driver license or identification card, can you be fined and placed in prison
Yes, penalties up to a maximum fine of $ 5,000.00 and imprisonment up to 5 years!
You must obtain a new license showing the new address within how many days of moving?
If you begin employment or enroll children in Florida public schools, how long do you have before you must obtain Florida vehicle registration and license plate?
If you lose your Florida driver license and need a replacement license, where do you apply for it?
A State or Tax Collector issuance office
. If you failed to answer a traffic summons, would you be able to renew your license?
What would happen to the license of a driver who was involved in an accident and did not stop to help persons who were injured?
The license of the driver would be revoked
If you receive twelve points within twelve months, for how long will your license be suspended?
What are the penalties for driving under the influence (DUI)?
First offense- $500-1000 fine with a BAL .15 of higher or minor in the vehicle, not less than 1,000 or more than $2,000, 50 hours of community service, not more than 1 year of probation, not more than 6 months in prison; with BAL .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle, not more than 9 months, License Revocation minimum 180 days, 12 hours DUI School Requirement Evaluation conducted to determine need for treatment, Ignition Interlock Device up to 6 continuous months.
Both your judgment and vision are affected after drinking alcohol. Which is affected first?
What are the penalties for refusing to take a test to determine whether you are intoxicated?
License suspended for one year
What type of insurance must you have on motor vehicles with four or more wheels?
$10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
$10,000 of Property Damage Liability (PDL)
If your driver license is suspended for too many points, what type of insurance must you either purchase or prove that you had on the effective date of the suspension?
10,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) or 20,000 (BIL) if two or more persons. 10,000 property damage liability (PDL), 30,000 combined single limits
What are the penalties for littering?
fined up to $500 or jailed up to 60 days. You can be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor and fined up to $1,000 if dumping more than 15 pounds of trash.
If you hit a parked car and are unable to find the owner, what should you do?
Leave a note on the vehicle with you name, address, and license plate number. Report the crash immediately to the proper law enforcement agency.
When a crash results in property damages of any amount, must the driver notify the Florida Highway Patrol, the Sheriff's Department, or the
city police department?
After a crash has been investigated by an officer, does the driver need to send a written report to the Department of Highway Safety and
when any government vehicle is parked in the middle of the two lane roadway the drivers should slow down to ____ miles if the area speed limit is higher then 25
In Florida, the standard speed limit in a school zone is:
What is the maximum speed limit in a residential area if there is no speed limit sign?
Drivers charged with exceeding the speed limit by more than __ mph may not make an election under the subsection for traffic school?
What is the maximum speed limit for passenger cars on a two-lane highway during the daytime?
55 mph unless otherwise posted.
What is the maximum speed limit on an interstate highway on a clear day? In a rural area?
What must you do when approaching a person who is riding or leading a horse upon or near the roadway?
Slow down and yield
What must you do when you see a pedestrian with a white cane in the street ahead of you?
Yield and give them the right-of-way
To what ages does the Child Restraint Law apply?
All children 5 years of age or younger
What is the minimum age to be eligible to obtain an identification card?
5 years old
When you are entering a highway or street from a private driveway and the way is clear, can you move forward without stopping first?
For how many feet before you start to turn should you begin your turn signal when you are driving on a highway?
How far must your taillights be visible from?
1000 feet with white light
Suppose you are driving on a four-lane highway. From which lane should you turn? Into which lane should you turn?
Turn right from the right lane into the right lane. Turn left from the left lane into the left lane.
When may you drive in the left lane of a road with four or more lanes with two-way traffic?
When overtaking or passing.
After passing a vehicle, you must return to the right side of the road before coming within how many feet of an oncoming vehicle?
How many feet to the rear should you be able to see objects through the rearview mirror?
If your car breaks down, how many feet in each direction should the vehicle be visible when you park it?
Trucks and any vehicle towing another vehicle must not follow within how many feet behind another truck
When approaching another vehicle from the rear at night, within how many feet must you dim your bright headlights?
Within 300 feet.
Within how many feet of an oncoming vehicle should you dim your bright headlights?
Within 500 feet.
At what places is it unlawful to overtake and pass?
Where you see a "DO NOT PASS" or "NO PASSING ZONE" sign; Where a solid yellow line is painted on you side of the center line; On hills or curves, and at the intersections; and Within 100 feet of a bridge, viaduct, tunnel, or railroad crossing.
Can a driver who crosses a solid line on the right of the center line of the highway be issued a ticket for the violation?
What is the recommended safe following distance?
What, in seconds, is the minimal following distance on optimal roads?
When parking on a hill set the parking brake then put
gear shift in Park
Which way should you turn your wheels when parking facing uphill where there is a curb? And where there isn't a curb?
Where there is a curb, turn wheels away from the curb. Where there isn't a curb, turn wheels to the right.
What gear should you shift to when parking uphill
Shift to reverse
When parking on a downgrade with a curb, in which direction should your wheels be turned? And shift to what gear?
Towards the curb and shifted to first
Are motor scooters whose engines have less than 150 cubic centimeter displacement allowed to be driven on an expressway?
At what times should you use your headlights?
Under what conditions must you use your headlights when driving in the daytime?
Where do you usually find "YIELD RIGHT-OF-WAY" signs posted?
Yield signs are usually placed where auxiliary roads lead into major roads.
If more than one vehicle is approaching a four-way stop sign and you are the first one to get there and stop, do you have the right to move
No, Florida law states that no one has the right-of-way. So don't assume that you do because you arrived first.
When the foot brake is pressed, which light must come on?
Red brake light
What is your car required to have that makes the license plate visible from what feet?
a white light that makes the license plate visible from 50 feet
What rights and duties do riders of bicycles and mopeds have?
Same rights and duties as motor vehicle drivers.
When can a motorist preparing to make a right hand turn, move into a bike lane?
when its clear
What should a motorist do when they approach a bicyclist from the rear?
Give them plenty of room and pass when safe.
What should you do when preparing to turn right on a roadway with a bike lane?
Look for bicyclists; signal you turn; yield to bikers; then turn
What is the proper way to use anti-lock brakes in an emergency situation?
Press down on them firmly. DO NOT PUMP BREAKS
What do anti-lock braking systems prevent when used in an emergency stopping situation?
Skidding and allow steering
Where should reflectors be mounted?
On the rear mounted on each side
Give three examples of loads that need to be covered to avoid items, falling or blowing on roadway.
dirt , sand, or trash
If a chain, rope, or cable is used when one vehicle is towing another, what does the chain need to have displayed on it?
It must have a white flag at least 12 inches square attached to it.
How long can the drawbar be between the towing vehicle and the vehicle being towed?
How long should the draw bar be if you are towing poles, pipes, machinery, or other objects that cannot be easily taken apart
Longer than 15 feet long
Assume that a load extends 4 or more feet beyond the bed or body of a vehicle driven on a highway in the daytime. How many flags must
be used to mark it, and what color should they be?
In the daytime, 4 red flags at least 12 inches square. *must be placed on the projecting load where red lamps are used at night (extreme rear and sides)
If your car breaks down in traffic, you should:
Use your hazard lights to alert other drivers
If one of your tires blows out, what is the safest thing to do?
Hold the steering wheel firmly and slowly ease up on the gas
In general, you should pass cars going in the same direction as you are going:
On the left
According to Florida law, you are considered intoxicated if your blood alcohol level is more than:
At what blood alcohol level will a driver under 21 years old have their license suspended?
0.02 or higher blood alcohol level
If you are under 21 and have your license suspended due to a BAL of .02- _______ you are required to complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course in order to get it back.
When entering traffic after being parked at a curb you should
Give yourself enough time and space to get up to the speed of the other drivers
When driving at night, it is important to:
Allow yourself time to stop within the range of your headlights
If you are found to be texting and driving in Florida and it is your FIRST offense what happens
Nothing there is no penalty
When planning to turn at an intersection, you should begin to use your turn signal:
At least 100 feet before the intersection
Regarding traffic circles, or roundabouts, you have the right of way when?
When you are already in the circle
If parking uphill shift gear to
Sets with similar terms
Florida permit test study questions
Florida Permit Test Questions 2013
Florida Permit Test Questions 2013
Florida DMV Study questions and Answer
Other sets by this creator
Ch 8 & 9
Florida learners permit practice questions pt3
Florida learners permit practice questions pt2
Bio beyond - Disease Detective
Other Quizlet sets
ACCT ENTRANCE EXAM: Long-Term Liabilities
NASM Chapter 3 Study Guide
AT week 5
business law final