11 terms

Nutrition Chapter 1: Nutrition Standards and Guidelines

Estimated Average Requirement (EAR)
The average daily nutrient intake level estimated to meet the requirements of half of the healthy individuals in a particular life stage or gender group. Used to determine the RDA of a nutrient.
Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA)
The average daily nutrient intake level that meets the nutrient requirements of 97% to 98% of healthy individuals in a particular life stage and gender group. Are commendations, not minimum requirements, offer a substantial margin of safety, and based on large body of scientific and experimental data.
Adequate Intake (AI)
A recommended average daily nutrient intake level based on observed or experimentally determined estimates of nutrient intake by a group of healthy people. Used when the RDA is not yet established: calcium, vitamin D, vitamin K, and fluoride.
Tolerable Upper Intake Level (UL)
The highest average daily nutrient intake level likely to pose no risk of adverse health effects to almost all individuals in a particular life stage and gender group. Needs grew out of the increase in the practice of fortifying foods coupled with the popular use of supplements.
Estimated Energy Requirement (EER)
The average dietary energy intake that is predicted to maintain energy balance in a healthy adult. Based on age, gender, height, weight, and physical activity.
Acceptable Macronutrient Distribution Ranges (AMDR)
A range of intakes for a particular energy source that is associated with reduced risk of chronic disease while providing adequate intakes of essential nutrients.
Registered Dietician (RN)
A professional designation that requires a minimum of a bachelor's degree in nutrition, completion of a supervised clinical experience, a passing grade on a national exam, and maintenance of registration with the American Dietetic Association. Are qualified to work in a variety of settings.
Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs)
Updated nutritional standards.
Expanded on the traditional RDA values.
Set standards for nutrients that do not have RDA
Dietary standards for healthy people only.
For preventing deficiency diseases and reducing
chronic diseases.
RDA for energy
Excess intake of energy leads to obesity and is based on the mean, or average intake for each age and sex group.
Uses of the RDA
To plan and evaluate diets of populations, estimate risk of deficiencies over time, determine the adequacy of diets in surveys, establish guidelines for food assistance programs, guidelines for food labeling, and to develop new food products.
Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs) Consist of:
Recommended Dietary Allowances (RD), Estimated Average Requirement (EAR), Adequate Intake (AI), Tolerable Upper Intake Level (UL), Estimated Energy Requiremet, (EER) and Acceptable Macronutrient Distribution Ranges (AMDR).