NCAA Softball Situations
Terms in this set (24)
Safe, but proper appeal may still be made at second base. (18.104.22.168)
The runner misses second base by a step but just touches the corner of third base. The defense appeals that the runner missed third base.
The batter runner may legally retreat because she had not yet touched the final base of her award. The appeal cannot be ruled on until the player completes her base-running responsibilities, and because she corrected her own error, the appeal is denied. (22.214.171.124.6)
After an out-of-the-park home run, the batter-runner misses first base and while between second and third bases, the first baseman appeals to the umpire that first base had been missed. The batter-runner, hearing this, retreats to retouch second base, touches first base, and completes her base-running responsibilities correctly. The defensive coach argues that the appeal came before the batter-runner touched first base.
The error should be corrected immediately, with no penalty, and the game shall continue from that point. (2.16)
Once the game has started, it is discovered by or brought to the attention of the umpire that the lines, or pitching or base distances, are incorrect.
"No Game" is declared. (2.16, 6.18)
Once the game has started, it is discovered by or brought to the attention of the umpire that the lines, or pitching or base distances, are incorrect, AND they cannot be corrected and the game cannot be moved to a regulation field.
Illegal. Artificially warming the bats. (126.96.36.199.1)
A dugout heater or electric blankets are used to keep the players warm. Before going on deck, each batter used the heater to warm herself and her bat.
Legal. Players can warm themselves without placing the bat where it cane be warmed. (188.8.131.52.1)
A dugout heater or electric blankets are used to keep the players warm. Before going on deck, each batter used the heater to warm herself BUT NOT her bat.
Bunt Attempt (1.12). Strike. In order to take a pitch, the bat must be withdrawn - pulled backward and away from the ball.
The batter holds the bat in/over the strike zone during the pitch, but makes no attempt to make contact with the pitch as it passes.
Illegal. 0 and 00 are considered the same number (3.10.4)
Player A wears jersey #0, while player B wears jersey #00. Is this legal?
Yes. Since neither of these cameras is attended to by personnel, acquiring video for future use from these team areas is permissible. The intent is not to prohibit the uploading of information but rather to continue restricting the downloading and use of information during the game. (5.9.3)
The host team has cameras mounted on or in its dugout for its future video analysis of its hitters and the visiting team has an unmanned camera on a tripod in its dugout to video the pitchers. Is this legal?
A strike shall be called on the batter. (2.15.4)
An offensive player intentionally and deliberately removes the back line of the batter's box prior to taking her turn at bat. This is illegal. What is the penalty?
A ball shall be awarded to the batter. (2.15.4)
A pitcher intentionally and deliberately removes the 24 inch line. This is illegal. What is the penalty?
A batter may not be intentionally walked by erasing lines. (2.15.4 Note)
A pitcher intentionally and deliberately removes the 24 inch line so that "ball four" can load the bases without the risk of a passed ball. This is illegal. What is the penalty?
No. At no time is a branding sticker allowed on top of the base. (2.4 Note)
Upon arrival at the field, you notice that "25 year" sticker are placed on top of the bases. Is this legal?
Yes. A new NCAA Approved Softball Bat List shall be provided each day of competition including the resumption of a halted game on a different day. (3.3.4 Note 1)
Game 2 on Friday was suspended due to rain and will resume on Saturday. Is a new bat list needed for the completing of game 2?
Yes. Although "strongly recommended," anyone who receives warm-up pitched off the field of play is not required to wear catcher's headgear. (3.6 Note)
A warm-up catcher in the bullpen or dead-ball area is not wearing the proper catcher's headgear/throat protector. Is this legal?
No. Securing sleeves to simulate a sleeveless jersey is considered wearing the uniform improperly. (3.10.5)
A player has her uniform sleeves taped to simulate a sleeveless jersey. Is this legal?
No. Student-athletes, unlike other base coaches, must wear NOCSAE approved protective helmets while in the coaches' boxes. (4.3.1. Note 2)
A student-athlete coaching first base does not have a helmet on. Is this legal?
Interference. The batter is out. The coaches box is not a sanctuary for a coach when a play is being made in the vicinity of the coach's box. (4.3.3 Note)
A coach, completely within the confines of the coaches box, stands completely motionless as to not distract a defensive player attempting to field a fly ball. The ball strikes the coach preventing the defensive player from making the catch. What is the ruling?
Yes, as long as the visiting team pitcher and catcher have two additional teammates posted near them for protection purposes. (5.1.2 Note Exception)
While the home team is taking pregame infield/outfield, the visiting team's pitcher is warming up in foul territory. Is this legal?
No. Players not listed on the official lineup card are not eligible to play. (5.6.3 Note 1)
Sally Jane is accidentally omitted from the official lineup card. Is Sally allowed to play?
No. Omitting the last name makes the player ineligible, not the card inaccurate. (5.6.3 Note 4)
Sally Jane is listed simply as "Sally" on the lineup card. Is Sally allowed to play?
Yes. Turning on or off videotaping equipment between innings does not constitute a violation. (5.9.5 Note 1)
The host team has cameras mounted on or in its dugout for its future video analysis of its hitters and the assistant coach turns on and off the videotaping equipment between innings. Is this legal?
No. A monopod may be used, but tripods are not allowed. (5.13 Note)
An authorized media member is in foul territory using a tripod. Is this legal?
Where Am I Now?
Beginning of Rule 6