Question types

Start with

Question limit

of 25 available terms

Advertisement Upgrade to remove ads
Print test

5 Written questions

5 Matching questions

  1. caste system
  2. karma
  3. bhakti marga
  4. Avatar
  5. shudra
  1. a - the most popular of the three Hindu paths to salvation, emphasizing loving devotion to one's chosen god or goddess.
  2. b the moral law of cause and effect of actions; determines the nature of one's reincarnation.
  3. c an incarnation, or living embodiment, or a deity, usually Vishnu, who is sent to earth to accomplish a divine purpose; Krishna and Rama are the most popular avatars.
  4. d the lowest of the four classes of the caste system, traditionally made up of servants and laborers.
  5. e traditional division of Hindu society into various categories; there are four main varnas; or classes:Brahmin, kshatriya, vaishya, and shudra; each class contains certain subgroups, resulting in more than three thousand categories.

5 Multiple choice questions

  1. A short section of the epic poem Mahabharata in which the god Krishna teaches the great warrior Arjuna about bhakti marga and other ways to God; Hinduism's most popular text.
  2. a trancelike state in which self-consciousness is lost and the mind is absorbed into the ultimate reality; the culmination of the eight steps of Yoga.
  3. the doctrine that reality is ultimately made up of only one essence.
  4. a wandering ascetic who has advanced to the fourth and highest stage of life.
  5. The eternal self, which the Upanishads identify with Brahman; often lowercase: the eternal Self or soul on an individual that is reincarnated from one body to the next and is ultimately identified with Atman.

5 True/False questions

  1. arthamaterial success and social prestige, one of the four goals of life.


  2. asceticone who renounces physical pleasures and worldly attachments for the sake of spiritual advancement; common in Hinduism and many other religious traditions, most notably Jainism.


  3. Brahmanthe highest of the four classes of the caste system, traditionally made up of priests.


  4. mayacosmic illusion brought about by divine creative power.


  5. satipleasure, especially sensual love; one of the four goals of life.