10 terms

Marine policy


Terms in this set (...)

Marine Mammal Protection Act
bans the hunting of all marine mammals in US waters and the importation of marine mammal products
International Whaling Commission (IWC)
placed a moratorium on commercial hunting whales in 1985
maximum sustainable yield
the amount of a population that can be caught and still maintain the same population size
United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea
allows nations to establish an exclusive economic zone up to 200 nautical miles offshore in which the nations are responsible for sustainably managing living and nonliving resources
Magnuson-Stevens Sustainable Fisheries Act
US law that requires fisheries managers to develop management plans for fish populations, restore depleted populations, reduce by-catch, and protect essential fish habitat
Oil Pollution Act
US law that requires oil companies to have tankers with double hulls, emergency plans to deal with oil spills, and created a trust fund that oil companies must contribute to to pay for clean-up and retribution after oil spills
Clean Water Act
US law that protects surface waters (streams, rivers, ponds, lakes, coastal waters) from point source pollution and sets water quality standards
Endangered Species Act
US law that prohibits the harassment or hunting of endangered species and protects the habitat of endangered species; the law also enforces CITES, the international law against trade of endangered species or body parts of endangered species
Coastal Zone Management Act
US law that protects fragile coastal ecosystems from development
National Marine Sanctuaries Act
authorizes the Secretary of Commerce to designate and protect areas of the marine environment with special national significance due to their conservation, recreational, ecological, historical, scientific, cultural, archeological, educational, or esthetic qualities as national marine sanctuaries