Faith: World Religions East and West

belief in multiple Gods
belief in a single God
the founding father of Judaism
the scroll of parchment on which the first five books of the Hebrew Scripture is written
Jewish place of worship
Savior sent by God
10 Commandments
moral code of laws, written by god and given to moses
New Testament
The second part of the Christian Bible, containing descriptions of the life and teachings of Jesus and of his early followers
of or relating to or supporting Catholicism
a member of a Christian church founded on the principles of the Reformation
Religious leader and founder of Christianity
a Christian celebration of the Resurrection of Christ
The Koran
the holy book of Islam
Muslim name for the one and only God
the Arab prophet who founded Islam (570-632)
The 5 Pillars of Islam
1. Belief in Allah and Muhammad as his prophet. 2. Standard prayer 5 times a day and public prayer on Fridays at Midday to worship Allah facing Mecca. 3. Observation of the holy month of Ramadan. 4. Making a pilgrimage to Mecca in one's lifetime, aka Hajj. 5. Giving alms to the poor and unfortunate (charity).
a member of the branch of Islam that accepts the first four caliphs as rightful successors to Muhammad
a member of the branch of Islam that regards Ali as the legitimate successor to Mohammed and rejects the first three caliphs
the Hindu or Buddhist doctrine that person may be reborn successively into one of five classes of living beings (god or human or animal or hungry ghost or denizen of hell) depending on the person's own actions
a single spiritual power that Hindus believe lives in everything, the highest of the four varnas: the priestly or sacerdotal category
Hindu term: One's fortune, based on how well/unwell they follow their dharma. The amount of good kharma you accumulate in life determines how you are reborn in the next life, and whether or not you reach enlightenment (Nirvana)
the religious and moral duties of Hindus, the duties and obligations of each caste
founder of Buddhism
Four Noble Truths
The central teachings of Buddhism; to live is to suffer; suffering is caused by desire; the cessation of suffering can be achieved; the solution is the Noble Eightfold Path
Eightfold Path
In Buddhism, the basic rules of behavior and belief leading to an end of suffering
5 Relationships
1. Ruler - Subject 2. Father- Son 3. Elder Brother- Younger Brother 4. Husband- Wife 5. Friend- Friend
a record of the words and acts of the central Chinese thinker and philosopher Confucius and his disciples