Chapter 7 Men

Flashcards about the men from chapter seven.
Max Planck
(1858 - 1947) German scientist. Proposed that visible light consists of electromagnetic wabes and that light has a electric field and magnetic field componen (perpendicular planes). Received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1981 for his quantum theory. He also made significant contributions in thermodynamics and other areas of physics.
Albert Einstein
(1879 - 1955) German-born American physicist. Proposed that electromagnetic radiation (EMR) can be viewed as a stream of discrete particles called photons. Regarded as one of the two greatest physicists the world has known. The three papers he published in 1905 have profoundly influenced the development of physics. He received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1921 for his explnation of the photoelectric effect.
Niels Bohr
(1885 - 1962) Danish physicist. His theory on the hydrogen atom is no longer totally applicable. One of the founders of modern physics, he received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1922 for his theory explainign the spectrum of the hydrogen atom.
Johannes Rydberg
(1854 - 1919) Swedish physicist. He made a constant. His major contribution to physics was his study of the line of many elements.
Louis de Broglie
(1892 - 1977) French physicist. Said that if light waves can behave like photons, then perhaps electrons can possess wave like properties. Member of an old and noble family in France, he held the title of a prince. in his doctoral dissertation, he propsed that matter and radiation have the properties of both wave and particle. For this work, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1929.
Werner Heisenberg
(1901 - 1976) German physicist. Said it was impossible to determine accurately both the momentum and the position of an electron simultaneously. One of the founders of modern quantum theory, he received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1932.
Erwin Schrodinger
(1887 - 1961) Austrian physicist. Formulated wave mechanics, which lade the foundation for modern quantum theory. His equation helps calculate quantum numbers. He received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1933.
Wolfgang Pauli
(1900 - 1958) Austrian physicist. Said taht no two electrons could have the same set of quantum numbers in one atom and that in each orbital, the two electrons have oppose spins. One of the founders of quantum mecanics, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1945.
Frederick Hund
(1896 - 1997) German physicist. He said that when electrons occupy orbitals of equal energy, one electron enters each orbital until all the orbitals contain one electron with the same spin. His work was mainly in quantum mechanics. He helped develop the molecular orbital theory of chemical bonding.