19 terms

HBSE- Chapter 5- Key Terms


Terms in this set (...)

Perspective that the ecosphere and everything on earth has its own intrinsic worth, and should be valued and cared for, including earth (Gaia) itself; recognition that humans are only one part of the interconnected web of life.
As defined in Fowler's theory of faith development, a generic feature of the human search for meaning that provides a centering orientation from which to live one's life. May or may not be based in religious expression.
Faith stages
Distinct levels of faith development, each with particular characteristics, emerging strengths and potential dangers. Fowler identifies seven faith stages in his theory of faith development.
First Force therapies
Therapies based on dynamic theories of human behavior, with the prime concern being about repression and solving instinctual conflicts by developing insights.
Four quadrants
From Wilber's integral theory, the four most important dimensions of existence. The upper-left quadrant represents the interior of individuals, or the subjective aspects of consciousness or awareness; the upper- right quadrant represents the exterior of individuals, including the objective biological and behavioral aspects; the lower-left quadrant represents the interior of collectives, or the values, meanings, worldviews, and ethics that are shared by groups of individuals; the lower- right quadrant represents the exterior, material dimensions of colletcives, including social systems and the environment.
Fourth Force therapies
Therapies that specifically target the spiritual dimension, focusing on helping the person let go of ego attachments and transcend the self through various spiritually based practices.
In Wilber's full-spectrum models of consciousness, a specific turning point in development, where the person must go through a three-step process of fusion/differentiation/integration in order to move from one level of consciousness to another.
Ideology (personal)
A particular body of ideas or outlook; a person's specific worldview.
Levels of conscious
From Wilber's integral theory, overall stages of awareness and being; moving from the pre-personal to the personal and transpersonal phases, each with multiple levels of development.
A systematic set of beliefs, practices, and traditions experienced within a particular social institution over time.
Second Force therapies
Therapies based on behavioral theories; they focus on learned habits and seek to remove symptoms through various processes of direct learning.
In Wilber's full-spectrum model of consciousness, the active self or person who moves through the stages of consciousness and meditates between the basic and transitional structures of development.
Spiritual bypassing
Use of spiritual beliefs or practices to avoid dealing in any significant depth with unresolved issues and related emotional and behavioral problems; includes attempts to prematurely transcend the ego.
A search for purpose, meaning, connection between oneself other people, the universe, and the ultimate reality, which can be experienced within either a religious or a non religious framework.
States of consciousness
From Wilber's integral theory, an understanding of experience that includes both ordinary (walking, sleeping, and dreaming) and non-ordinary experiences (peak experiences, religious experiences, altered states, and meditative or contemplative states)
Third Force therapies
Therapies rooted in experiential/humanistic/existential theories that focus on helping a person deal with existential despair, and that seek the actualization of the person's potential through techniques grounded in immediate experiencing.
Transpersonal approach
An approach to human behavior that includes levels of consciousness or spiritual development that move beyond rational individuated-personal personhood to a sense of self that transcends the mind/body ego- a self-identity also referred to as transegoic.
Ultimate environment
Conceptualizations of the highest level of reality, understood differently by persons at various levels of spiritual development or consciousness.
Identification beyond the "me" (egocentric), or the "us" (ethnocentric), to identification and concern for "all of us" (worldcentric), or the entire global human family; a moral stance that is characteristic of higher levels of spiritual development.