14 terms

Counseling Theories Summary

Psychoanalytic- Freud- ch 5
personality structure is id, ego and superego, mind is made up of unconscious & conscious, goal is to identify unconsious conflicts, psychosocial stages of development (oral, anal, phallic, latency, genital), dream analysis, anxiety motivates humans, anxiety is controlled by ego defense mechanisms.
Adlerian- Adler, Dreiker, Drinkmeyer- ch 5
social forces and psychological influences play a vital role in personality development, lmotivation comes from social urges, consious is foundation of personality development, goal is to help client develop a healthy self esteem and lifestyle by reeducation and restructuring, help clients question perception of self and goals, provide encouragement toward meaninful goals, people try to compensate for feelings of inferiority, "inferiorty complex", birth order may have more impact then parent child
Neo Freudian- Analytic Psychology- Carl Jung- ch 5
unconsious could be tapped into and developed, dream analysis, archetypes (buried memories), people have anima, animas. Men operate in logos (logic) and women operate in intuition (eros). Myers Briggs Type Indicator states measures 4 personality types thinking, feeling, sensing, and intuition.
Neo Freudian- Erich Fromm- ch 5
people are influenced by social and cultural forces but shape thie own nature.
Neo Freudian- Otto Rank- ch 5
people want to return to the security they feel in the womb, people struggle for individuality, experience separation anxiety
Neo Freudian- Erik Erikson- ch 5
psychosocial and psychosexual growth occurs at the same time, development occurs through out a lifetime, "Eight Stages of Development"
Eight Stages of Development- Early Infancy B-1
Basic Trust vs Mistrust
Eight States of Development- Later Infancy 1-2
Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt
Eight Stages of Development- Early Childhood 3-5
Initiative vs Guilt
Eight Stages of Development- Middle Childhood 6-11
Idustry vs Inferiority
Eight Stages of Development- Adolesnce 12-20
Identity vs Role Confusion
Eight Stages of Development- Early Adulthood 20-35
Intimacy vs Isolation
Eight Stages of Development- Middle Adulthood 35-65
Gernerativity vs Stagnation
Eight Stages of Development- Late Adulthood 65 plus
Integrity vs Despair